Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

NHL Awards: Ryan Kesler wins Selke, Dan Bylsma wins Jack Adams

June 22, 2011 |  4:53 pm

Photo: Dan Bylsma. Credit: Associated Press. Vancouver’s Ryan Kesler wins the Selke as the top defensive forward…no surprise there. Brief but nice speech, thanking team, parents, wife, kids.

Mild surprise: Jack Adams as Coach of the Year goes to Pittsburgh’s Dan Bylsma. Remember, voting is done before playoffs, so his team’s first-round loss didn’t come into play. Still a deserving winner. Bylsma did well with Penguins after losing Evgeni Malkin and Sidney Crosby to injuries.

Next up: Calder trophy for rookie of the year.

More coming as the awards are announced.


NHL awards:  Lidstrom, Chara, Sedin win awards

NHL goes to Las Vegas for awards show

--Helene Elliott

Photo: Dan Bylsma. Credit: Associated Press.