Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

College baseball: UCLA, Cal State Fullerton will host NCAA regionals

May 29, 2011 |  1:01 pm


UCLA and Cal State Fullerton were among the 16 schools awarded NCAA baseball regionals on Sunday.

UCLA clinched at least a share of the Pacific 10 conference title with a victory over Arizona State on Saturday. The Bruins, who finished second to South Carolina at the College World Series last season, hosted a regional and super regional in 2010.

Pac-10 teams will host three regionals: Arizona State and Oregon State were also awarded bids.

Fullerton, the Big West Conference champion, has hosted a regional the last four seasons and seven times in the last eight. The Titans lost to UCLA in the super regional in 2010.

South Carolina, Georgia Tech, Texas, North Carolina, Virginia, Clemson, Texas A&M, Texas Christian, Florida, Rice, Vanderbilt and Florida State will also host regionals, which run June 3-6.

The 64-team tournament field will be announced Monday. The eight super regionals will be announced on June 6. The College World Series begins on June 18.

--Chris Foster

Photo: UCLA's Tyler Rahmatulla celebrates his two-run home run in the ninth inning as he rounds first base behind Cal State Fullerton's Nick Ramirez during last season's NCAA super regional. Credit: Chris Carlson / Associated Press