Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

USC football: Opponents vote Tyron Smith winner of Pac-10 Morris Trophy

December 20, 2010 | 11:00 am

USC offensive tackle Tyron Smith has won the Pacific 10 Conference's Morris Trophy, presented annually to the conference's top offensive and defensive linemen.

Oregon State's Stephen Paea was honored as the top defensive lineman.

Starting offensive linemen in the conference vote for the defensive winner and starting defensive lineman vote for the offensive winner.

Smith, a two-year starter who will make himself available for the NFL draft, is the 12th USC player to win the Morris Trophy.

Former USC center Roy Foster, who won in 1980 and 1981, and Trojans defensive tackle Sedrick Ellis, who won in 2006 and 2007, were two-time winners.

-- Gary Klein