Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

Phillies' Roy Halladay wins NL Cy Young award

November 16, 2010 | 11:07 am

Halladay_300 Roy Halladay, who pitched a perfect game and a no-hitter in his first season in the National League, won the NL Cy Young Award on Tuesday.

Halladay won unanimously. He became the fifth pitcher to win a Cy Young Award in each league, joining Roger Clemens, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez and Gaylord Perry.

Adam Wainwright of the St. Louis Cardinals finished second, followed in order by Ubaldo Jimenez of the Colorado Rockies, Tim Hudson of the Atlanta Braves and Josh Johnson of the Florida Marlins.

No Dodger was among the 13 pitchers to receive a vote. Each of the 32 voters -- two in each NL city -- ranked five pitchers on his ballot.

Halladay went 21-10 with a 2.44 earned-run average. He led the NL in victories, innings pitched, complete games and shutouts, ranking second in strikeouts and third in shutouts.

Halladay pitched for the Toronto Blue Jays from 1998 to 2009, winning the American League Cy Young award in 2003 and finishing in the top five in Cy Young voting in four other seasons. However, the Blue Jays never appeared in the playoffs during Halladay's tenure, so he let them know he would not sign another contract extension.

The Jays traded him to the Phillies last winter -- and, in the first postseason appearance of Halladay's career, he pitched a no-hitter against the Cincinnati Reds. The ballots for the Cy Young award are due at the end of the regular season, so the no-hitter did not figure in the voting. His perfect game did, thrown against the Florida Marlins on May 29.

-- Bill Shaikin

Photo: Roy Halladay. Credit: Matt Slocum / Associated Press