Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

4 Ducks, 4 Kings make NHL All-Star ballot

November 12, 2010 |  4:43 pm

The NHL released the All-Star ballot Friday, and the steady Kings and the newly surging Ducks each placed four names on the 100-name list.

For the 11-3-0 Kings, goaltender Jonathan Quick, forwards Ryan Smyth and Anze Kopitar and defenseman Drew Doughty made the ballot, while the high-scoring "core four" forwards from the Ducks made it -- Teemu Selanne, Ryan Getzlaf, Corey Perry and Bobby Ryan.

The defending Stanley Cup champion Chicago Blackhawks have a league-high six players on the ballot: defensemen Brian Campbell, Duncan Keith and Brent Seabrook plus forwards Jonathan Toews, Marian Hossa and Patrick Kane.

Twenty-year-old center Steven Stamkos of the Tampa Bay Lightning, is making his first appearance on the ballot. He currently leads the league in goals and points this season, and his 51 goals last season tied him with Pittsburgh captain Sidney Crosby for the goal-scoring title.

Crosby also made the ballot. Here is a full list.

Voting, which begins Monday and runs through Jan. 3, will be entirely online -- including for the first time through Facebook ( -- and through mobile devices. Fans can select up to six players by position -- three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender –- without regard to the conference in which their teams play.

The three forwards, two defensemen and goalie with the most votes will be named first NHL All-Stars.

Oh, and fans will also have the ability to write in a player of their choice. Anyone for Ducks rookie defenseman Cam Fowler or forward Saku Koivu or Kings forward Justin Williams or defenseman Jack Johnson?

After the fans select the top six, the remaining 36 All-Stars will be named by the NHL from the list and write-in votes for a total of 42 All-Stars (three goalies, six defensemen and 12 forwards per team). In addition, 12 NHL rookies will be chosen by the NHL to participate in a skills contest for a total of 54 participants.

After the 42 have been selected, two captains will be chosen per team by the players. Then a draft will be held with all 54 during which the captains will draft the remaining members of their respective teams.

The All-Star game will be Sunday, Jan. 30, at RBC Center in Raleigh, N.C.

-- Debbie Goffa