Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

Nine Olympic gold medalists named to 2010-12 U.S. national basketball team

February 10, 2010 | 10:10 am

Kobe Nine Olympic gold medalists, including Lakers star Kobe Bryant, are among 27 players who have been selected to the 2010-12 U.S. national team roster.

Each of the players, chosen by USA Basketball on Wednesday, are eligible to represent the country at this summer's world championships and the 2012 Olympic Games in London.

Lakers forward Lamar Odom and Clippers guard Eric Gordon also made the roster.

"Special recognition and acknowledgment needs to go to the nine players returning from our 2008 Olympic team," USA Basketball Chairman Jerry Colangelo said. "They have demonstrated that they are the heart and soul of our program and their commitment to continue to represent their county should not be overlooked."

Duke men's basketball coach Mike Krzyzewski will also return to coach the team.

Kobe BryantDerrick Rose
LeBron JamesChauncey Billups
Dwayne WadeAmare Stoudemire
Chris BoshLamar Odom
Chris PaulO.J. Mayo
Dwight HowardKevin Love
Carmelo AnthonyRudy Gay
Deron WilliamsAl Jefferson
Danny GrangerDavid Lee
Brook LopezRussell Westbrook
LaMarcus AldridgeEric Gordon
Gerald WallaceAndre Iguodala
Kendrick PerkinsCarlos Boozer
Kevin Durant

-- Austin Knoblauch

Photo: Kobe Bryant. Credit: Dusan Vranic / Associated Press