Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

Pujols wins MVP; Ethier, Kemp in top 10

November 24, 2009 | 11:05 am

Albert Albert Pujols of the St. Louis Cardinals is the unanimous winner of the National League Most Valuable Player award. Pujols won NL MVP honors for the second consecutive season and third time in his career.

He is the sixth NL player to win the award on a unanimous vote, the first since Barry Bonds in 2002.

Hanley Ramirez of the Florida Marlins finished second, followed by Ryan Howard of the Philadelphia Phillies and Prince Fielder of the Milwaukee Brewers.

Andre Ethier of the Dodgers finished sixth, and he got two second-place votes. Matt Kemp of the Dodgers finished 10th, and he got two fourth-place votes.

The complete voting is here.

--  Bill Shaikin

Photo: Albert Pujols hits a single during Game 3 of the National League division series on Oct. 10. Credit: Jeff Roberson / Associated Press