Show Tracker

What you're watching

« Previous Post | Show Tracker Home | Next Post »

Ellen DeGeneres to receive Mark Twain Prize for American Humor

May 15, 2012 | 11:12 am

Ellen DeGeneres

This fall, Ellen DeGeneres will join Richard Pryor, Steve Martin, Whoopi Goldberg, Tina Fey, George Carlin and Will Ferrell in a very exclusive comedy club: recipients of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

The Emmy-winning host of "The Ellen DeGeneres Show" is being honored for her stand-up work, her daytime show, her various hosting gigs, activism and books.

According to the Kennedy Center, recipients of the Mark Twain Prize are "people who have had an impact on American society in ways similar to the distinguished 19th century novelist and essayist Samuel Clemens."

Mark Twain never had a daytime talk show, but he might have enjoyed hosting one.

In a statement, DeGeneres said, "It's such an honor to receive the Mark Twain Prize. To get the same award that has been given to people like Bill Cosby, Tina Fey and Will Ferrell, it really makes me wonder … why didn't I get this sooner?"

DeGeneres will have to make room on her already crowded awards shelf. She's already won 12 People's Choice Awards, three Teen Choice Awards, two Genesis Awards, a GLAAD Media Award and her talk show has won 35 Daytime Emmy Awards.

DeGeneres will receive her award during a ceremony at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C., on Oct. 22.


'General Hospital' and ABC top Daytime Emmy nominees

Anti-gay group slams J.C. Penney for hiring Ellen DeGeneres

Ellen DeGeneres ads: Anti-gay group's J.C. Penney boycott fizzles

-- Patrick Kevin Day

Photo: Ellen DeGeneres. Credit: Chris Pizzello / Associated Press