Olympics Blog

News about the Summer and Winter Games

« Previous Post | Olympics Blog Home | Next Post »

U.S. swim teams name captains for Beijing

July 30, 2008 |  7:53 pm

Dara Torres, right, hugs Natalie Coughlin after a July 3 race during the U.S. Olympic swimming trials.

Five-time Olympian Dara Torres, four-time Olympian Amanda Beard and Natalie Coughlin, who won five medals four years ago in Athens, are the newly elected captains of the U.S. Olympic women’s swimming team.

Three-time Olympians Erik Vendt and Jason Lezak, along with two-time Olympian Brendan Hansen, will captain the men's team in Beijing.

The captains were announced Wednesday after team members voted. The U.S. swimmers are training in Singapore and will leave on Monday for Beijing. The Olympic swim competition begins on Aug. 9.

Photo: Dara Torres, right, hugs Natalie Coughlin after the women's 100-meter freestyle semifinal at the U.S. Olympic swimming trials in Omaha on July 3. Credit: Mark J. Terrill/Associated Press Photo