Pop & Hiss

The L.A. Times music blog

« Previous Post | Pop & Hiss Home | Next Post »

Odd Future's 'OF Tape Vol. 2' due March 20, with tour, pop-up shops

January 17, 2012 | 11:45 am

Odd Future readies new album, 'OF Tape Vol. 2' for March 20 release
Odd Future’s new album, “OF Tape Vol. 2,” will be released March 20, accompanied by a string of live performances and preview screenings of “Loiter Squad,” the hip-hop collective’s live action television series premiering five days after the album drops.

The album includes new music from Odd Future Wolf Gang Kill Them All (OFWGTA) frontman Tyler, the Creator, as well as Hodgy Beats, Frank Ocean, Leftbrain, Domo Genesis, Mike G, Syd the Kid and the Internet. 

The OFWGTA tour itinerary: 10 performances in 10 cities across the nation, with dates and locations still to be announced. In conjunction with each show, a pop-up retail store with Odd Future music and merchandise will surface.

In addition to “OF Tape Vol. 2,” Tyler, the Creator is scheduled to release “Wolf,” the follow-up to last year’s “Goblin” album, in the spring. It'll be followed by MellowHype’s “Numbers” sometime this summer.

“Loiter Squad,” as previously announced, is a 15-minute live-action series in the vein of MTV’s “Jackass,” with music, skits, pranks and man-on-the-street segments, coming to the Adult Swim cable channel starting March 25. Screenings of the new show will preceed each of the Odd Future live performances.


Live review: Odd Future at Hard Summer

Coachella 2011: Odd Future has some work ahead of it

The story of Odd Future's Earl Sweatshirt gets another knot

-- Randy Lewis

Photo of Tyler, the Creator, right, and other members of Odd Future during the group's performance at last year's Hard Summer Music Festival in Los Angeles. Credit: Christina House / For The Times.