Pop & Hiss

The L.A. Times music blog

« Previous Post | Pop & Hiss Home | Next Post »

Pop & Hiss Exclusive: DJ Cam's 'Fall Forward Mix'

November 4, 2011 |  9:32 pm

Pop & Hiss Exclusive: DJ Cam's 'Fall Forward Mix'

Times are changing for DJ Cam. The artist, who has recently relocated from Paris to Los Angeles, released his new record "Seven" on Oct. 24 via Inflammable/K7 Records. Add in the fall time change we're all adopting this Sunday at 2 a.m., and there's plenty of inspiration behind his latest "Fall Forward Mix."

Released exclusively to Pop & Hiss, the 15-track offering is a hand picked set of songs from his new album, as well as cobbling of exclusive remixes from friends and longtime collaborators like Massive Attack, Mount Kimbie and Julio Bashmore. 

The overall mood of the mix is an extension of the full-length "Seven" -- a wandering, atmospheric journey through smooth, beat-driven soundscapes with a few haunting jazz detours. The end result combines the contemplative candor of a headphone record with the nightlife pulse of the decadent, Parisian dance floor. It's a little hard to pin down. Kind of like the guy who made it.

Over the span of 14 albums since 1994, the French-born DJ has dabbled in trip-hop, pop, folk, hip-hop and jazz -- often simultaneously. One of his most notable albums, 2002's "Soulshine," made its mark with bubbly dance hits like "Summer in Paris" and bebop-style beat knockers featuring rappers like Afu-Ra and the late Keith Elam, a.k.a. Guru of seminal east coast duo Gangstarr. 

"Fall Forward Mix" showcases DJ Cam's collaborations with vocalists like Chris James of English alt-electro band Stateless ("Ghost" and "Swim Conforce Remix") and Nicholette ("Love") as well as a remix of Massive Attack's " Paradise Circus" from their 2010 release "Heligoland." No matter whether you think "Fall Forward" sounds like a soundtrack to an early sunset, it stands as a welcome reminder of DJ Cam's penchant for creating eclectic and intimate sounds.


STL - "Dub Zero "

DJ Cam featuring Chris James - "Ghost"

Holy other - "Know where"

Mount Kimbie - "Carbonated"

Session Victim - "Time to let you down"

James Johnson - "Slow dance and romance"

Prommer & Barck - "Lovin"

DJ Cam featuring Chris James - "Swim Conforce Remix"

DJ Cam - "Ucomfortable"  (FaltyDL remix)

Julio Bashmore - "Batty knee dance"

Guillaume & The Coutu Dumonts - "Ubiquitious gaze"

Massive Attack - "Paradise circus" (Gui Boratto Remix)

DJ Rum - "Turiya"

Eric Roberston - "Picture Perfect" 

DJ Cam featuring Nicolette - "Love "


DJ CAM Fall Forward MIX by natejackson


Thundercat unveils import track '$200 TB" from 'Golden Age of the Apocalypse'

Proximal's Sahy Uhns offers free 'Montebello Postpartum' remix

Pop & Hiss premiere: Umphrey's McGee's new song 'Booth Love'

-- Nate Jackson

Photo: DJ Cam. Credit: Inflammable Records