Pop & Hiss

The L.A. Times music blog

« Previous Post | Pop & Hiss Home | Next Post »

April Fool's: Trent Reznor's 'Strobe Light'

April 1, 2009 |  1:59 pm

Strobelight300 We already know that Trent Reznor was not too impressed by Chris Cornell and Timbaland's new album, but for April Fool's Day he's taken it a bit further with the "announcement" of his own collaboration with Timbaland called "Strobe Light." The title of the faux-album blinks obnoxiously at the Nine Inch Nails website, which also offers these helpful downloading tips:

To download NIN's new full-length album... enter a valid email address in the fields below. A download link will be sent to you immediately. Your credit card will be charged $18.98 plus a $10 digital delivery convenience fee. Your files will arrive as windows media files playable on quite a few players with your name embedded all over them just in case you lose them.

It's too bad "Strobe Light" is fake because some of these collaborations would've been grimly fascinating, not to mention a challenge to the most faithful of poptimists. Here is the song line-up:

  1. intro skit
  2. everybody's doing it (featuring chris martin, jay-z AND bono)
  3. black t-shirt
  4. ...grinder (featuring sheryl crow) [Ed note: we had to edit a naughty word out of this one]
  5. coffin on the dancefloor
  6. this rhythm is infected
  7. slide to the dark side
  8. even closer (featuring justin timberlake and maynard james keenan)
  9. on the list (she's not)
  10. clap trap crack slap
  11. laid, paid and played (featuring fergie of the black eyed peas and al jourgensen)
  12. feel like being dead again
  13. still hurts (featuring alicia keys)
  14. outro skit

Al Jourgensen and Fergie sound like a pretty inspired pairing, but what about Hannah Montana and Genesis P-Orridge?

-- Margaret Wappler