Pop & Hiss

The L.A. Times music blog

« Previous Post | Pop & Hiss Home | Next Post »

ACM Awards: Scorecard

April 5, 2009 |  2:54 pm


Nominees and winners at the 2009 Academy of Country Music Awards, held April 5 in Las Vegas. Winners are in bold italics.

Entertainer of the Year

Kenny Chesney
Brad Paisley
George Strait
Carrie Underwood
Keith Urban

Top Male Vocalist

Kenny Chesney
Toby Keith
Brad Paisley

George Strait
Keith Urban

Top Female Vocalist

Miranda Lambert
Heidi Newfield
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood
Lee Ann Womack

Top Vocal Group

Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Rascal Flatts
Randy Rogers Band
The Lost Trailers

Top Vocal Duo

Big & Rich
Brooks & Dunn
Joey + Rory
Montgomery Gentry

Top New Artist

Zac Brown Band
Julianne Hough
Jake Owen

Top New Male Vocalist

Jamey Johnson
James Otto
Jake Owen

Top New Female Vocalist

Sarah Buxton
Julianne Hough
Ashton Shepherd

Top New Vocal Duo or Group

Eli Young Band
The Lost Trailers
Zac Brown Band

Album of the Year

"Back When I Knew It All" – Montgomery Gentry (Columbia)
Produced by: Blake Chancey

"Carnival Ride" – Carrie Underwood (19/Arista Nashville)
Produced by:  Mark Bright

"Fearless" – Taylor Swift (Big Machine)
Produced by: Scott Borchetta, Nathan Chapman, Taylor Swift

"That Lonesome Song"– Jamey Johnson (Mercury)
Produced by: The Kent Hardly Playboys

"Troubadour" – George Strait (MCA)
Produced by: Tony Brown and George Strait

Single Record of the Year [Award to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company]

"Gunpowder & Lead"
Miranda Lambert; produced by Frank Liddell and Mike Wrucke

"In Color"
Jamey Johnson; produced by The Ken Hardley Playboys

"Johnny & June"
Heidi Newfield; produced by Tony Brown

"Waitin' on a Woman"
Brad Paisley; produced by Frank Rogers
Arista Nashville

"You're Gonna Miss This"
Trace Adkins; produced by Frank Rogers
Capitol Nashville

Song of the Year [Award to Composer(s)/Publisher(s)/Artist(s)]

"I Saw God Today"
George Strait
Composers: Rodney Clawson, Monty Criswell, Wade Kirby
Publishers:  Big Red Toe Music (BMI), Blind Mule Music (BMI), Extremely Loud Music (BMI), Steel Wheels Music (BMI)

"In Color"
Jamey Johnson
Composers: Jamey Johnson, Lee Thomas Miller, James Otto
Publishers: Big Gassed Hitties (BMI), Eldorotto Music Publishing (BMI), EMI Blackwood Music, Inc., Lucky Thumb Music (BMI), New Song of Sea Gayle (BMI), Noah's Little Boat Music (BMI)

"Johnny & June"
Heidi Newfield
Composers: Deanna Bryant, Heidi Newfield, Stephony Smith
Publishers: Amylase Music (ASCAP), Big Hit Makers Music (BMI), Rainy Graham Publishing LLC (BMI), Souljet Music Tell Texas Tune III (ASCAP)

"Waitin' on a Woman"
Brad Paisley
Composers: Don Sampson, Wynn Varble
Publishers: EMI April Music, Inc. (ASCAP), Sea Gayle Music LLC (ASCAP), Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. (BMI)

"You're Gonna Miss This"
Trace Adkins
Composers: Ashley Gorley and Lee Thomas Miller
Publishers: EMI Blackwood Music, Inc. (BMI), Music of Windswept (ASCAP), Noah's Little Boat Music (BMI), Song of Combustion (ASCAP), Songs of Sea Gayle (BMI)

Video of the Year [Award to Producer(s)/Director(s)/Artist(s)]

"Johnny & June" -- Heidi Newfield
Producer: Karen Martin
Director: Eric Welch

"Just A Dream" -- Carrie Underwood
Producer: Randy Brewer
Director: Roman White

"Love Story"  -- Taylor Swift
Producer:  Trent Hardville
Director:  Trey Fanjoy

"Troubadour" -- George Strait
Producer: Dominic Cancilla
Director: Trey Fanjoy

"Waitin' on a Woman" -- Brad Paisley
Producer: Mark Kalbfeld, Jim Shea
Director: Jim Shea, Peter Tilden

Vocal Event of the Year [Award to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company]

"Another Try" -- Josh Turner Featuring Trisha Yearwood
Produced by: Frank Rogers
MCA Nashville

"Cowgirls Don't Cry" -- Brooks & Dunn featuring Reba McEntire
Produced by: Kix Brooks, Tony Brown, Ronnie Dunn
Arista Nashville

"Down The Road" -- Kenny Chesney with Mac McAnally
Produced by: Buddy Cannon, Kenny Chesney
Blue Chair/BNA

"Life In A Northern Town" -- Sugarland featuring Little Big Town & Jake Owen
Produced by: Not listed

"Start A Band" -- Brad Paisley duet with Keith Urban
Produced by: Frank Rogers
Arista Nashville

Photo: AP