24 Frames

Movies: Past, present and future

Category: WGA Awards

'Midnight in Paris,' The Descendants' win Writers Guild awards

February 19, 2012 |  6:58 pm


Woody Allen won the original screenplay award for "Midnight in Paris" and Alexander Payne and Jim Rash & Nat Faxon won adapted screenplay for "The Descendants" at the Writers Guild of America awards Sunday. Katie Galloway & Kelly Duane de la Vega received the documentary screenplay award for "Better This World."

In television, "Modern Family" came away with two awards -- for best comedy and best comedy episode -- as did "Homeland" -- for new series and a tie for episodic drama -- and "Breaking Bad" -- for drama series and a tie for episodic drama.

PHOTOS: Writers Guild awards

The awards were handed out simultaneously in Los Angeles at the Hollywood Palladium and in New York at the B.B. King Blues Club. Awards were also given for TV and new media writing. Here's a look at the top film and television winners:


Original Screenplay

"Midnight in Paris," Woody Allen

Adapted Screenplay

"The Descendants," screenplay by Alexander Payne and Nat Faxon & Jim Rash; based on the novel by Kaui Hart Hemmings

Documentary Screenplay

"Better This World," written by Katie Galloway & Kelly Duane de la Vega


Drama Series

"Breaking Bad," Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett

Comedy Series

"Modern Family," Cindy Chupack, Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Ben Karlin, Elaine Ko, Carol Leifer, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Dan O’Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Brad Walsh, Ilana Wernick, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker

New Series

"Homeland" Henry Bromell, Alexander Cary, Alex Gansa, Howard Gordon, Chip Johannessen, Gideon Raff, Meredith Stiehm

Episodic Drama -- tie

“Box Cutter” ("Breaking Bad"), written by Vince Gilligan

“The Good Soldier” ("Homeland"), written by Henry Bromell

Episodic Comedy

“Caught in the Act” ("Modern Family"), written by Steven Levitan & Jeffrey Richman

Long Form - Original

"Cinema Verite," David Seltzer

Long Form - Adapted

"Too Big to Fail," written by Peter Gould, based on the book written by Andrew Ross Sorkin


“Homer the Father” ("The Simpsons"), written by Joel H. Cohen

Comedy/Variety (Including Talk) Series

"The Colbert Report," writers: Michael Brumm, Stephen Colbert, Rich Dahm, Paul Dinello, Eric Drysdale, Rob Dubbin, Glenn Eichler, Dan Guterman, Peter Gwinn, Jay Katsir, Barry Julien, Frank Lesser, Opus Moreschi, Tom Purcell, Meredith Scardino, Scott Sherman, Max Werner; Comedy Central

-- John Horn, Julie Makinen

Photo: Marion Cotillard as Adriana and Owen Wilson as Gil in the Woody Allen film "Midnight in Paris." Credit: Roger Arpajou / Sony Pictures Classics

Woody Allen snags 20th nom for Writers Guild of America Award

January 5, 2012 | 10:41 am

Woody Allen earned his 20th nomination Thursday morning from the Writers Guild of America for the WGA Award for best original screenplay for "Midnight in Paris."

Allen, 76, received his first nomination from the WGA 46 years ago for "What's New Pussycat?" and won for 1977's "Annie Hall," 1984's "Broadway Danny Rose," 1986's "Hannah and Her Sisters" and 1989's "Crimes and Misdemeanors."

Joining Allen in the original screenplay category are Will Reiser for "50/50"; Annie Mumolo & Kristen Wiig for "Bridesmaids"; " Diablo Cody for "Young Adult"; and Tom McCarthy for "Win Win" (McCarthy shares story credit on the film with Joe Tiboni).

Adapted screenplay nominees are Alexander Payne and Nat Faxon & Jim Rash for "The Descendants," based on the novel by Kaui Hart Hemming; "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo," screenplay by Steve Zaillian based on the novel by Stieg Larsson; Tate Taylor for "The Help," based on the novel by Kathryn Stockett; John Logan for "Hugo," based on the book "The Invention of Hugo Cabret" by Brian Selznick; and Steve Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin for "Moneyball," based on the story by Stan Chevrin and based on the book by Michael Lewis.

Nominees were also announced in documentary screenplay. They are: "Better This World," written by Katie Galloway & Kelly Duane de la Vega; "If a Tree Falls: A Story of the Earth Liberation Front," written by Marshall Curry and Matthew Hamachek; "Nostalgia for the Light," written by Patricio Guzmán; "Pina," screenplay by Wim Wenders; "Position Among the Stars," script by Hetty Naaijkens-Retel Helmrich, Leonard Retel Helmrich;  "Senna," written by Manish Pandey.

The winners will be announced at the Writers Guild Awards Feb. 19 at simultaneous ceremonies in Hollywood and New York. 


'Hangover' gets a WGA nomination but don't get too exicted yet

Writers Guild of America Award has some surprises

 -- Susan King

Woody Allen's comedy "Midnight in Paris" is a WGA Award nominee. Credit: Roger Arpajou/Sony Pictures Classics

'Hangover' gets a WGA nomination, but don't get too excited yet

January 11, 2010 |  1:16 pm

Hango Screenwriting awards -- from the Writers Guild of America as well as at the Oscars and Golden Globes -- usually provide some of the season’s better drama. There’s always a fierce debate of some kind or another about just what it means to be original or adapted (the controversy over “Syriana” a few years ago was almost more interesting than anything in the movie) and at least one or two left-field choices that would never make higher-profile categories such as best director or picture.

This year brings an extra twist. As The Wrap’s Steve Pond has been pointing out, a number of requirements at the WGA -- some new, some longstanding – are keeping some of the favored scripts of 2009 out of the group’s awards. Most notably, “Inglourious Basterds,” “Up” and  “An Education” -- none of which was written under the group's Minimum Basic Agreement -- are not eligible.

All of that makes this morning’s nominations announcement from the WGA both more interesting -- and less revealing.

A number of the shortlisted films come as no surprise -- there’s “Avatar,” “Hurt Locker,” “(500) Days of Summer” and “A Serious Man” on the original side and “Precious” and “Up in the Air” on the adapted side.

But the ineligibility of several contenders has allowed some dark horses to sneak in. On the original side, that means “The Hangover,” which gets its first non-Golden Globe nomination. And on the adapted side, the fact that neither “An Education” nor “A Single Man” can qualify has turned things into a veritable free-for-all, as “Crazy Heart” (a movie whose screenplay few had been talking about), “Julie & Julia” (ditto) and “Star Trek” (taking, apparently the sci-fi slot that the Globes had given to “District 9”) all make the cut.

Of course all this will change when the Oscars come and "Basterds," “Up” and “Education” all unquestionably make their respective shortlists. (The WGA is often not that predictive of Oscar nominations even in looser times; last year the two award bodies shared only once choice in the original category.)

"The Hangover" probably won't be there when everyone dons tuxedos at the Kodak and Pixar and Tarantino step back into the mix. But for now, at least, it's fun to entertain the thought of  raunchy Vegas coming to starchy Hollywood.

-- Steven Zeitchik

Photo: Ed Helms, left, and Bradley Cooper in "The Hangover." Credit: Frank Masi, Warner Bros.


Oscar contenders look a lot like last year's

Up in the Air leads Golden Globes with six noms

The boys of 'Summer'


Recommended on Facebook


In Case You Missed It...




Get Alerts on Your Mobile Phone

Sign me up for the following lists: