Southern California -- this just in

« Previous Post | L.A. NOW Home | Next Post »

Measure B goes down, Villaraigosa wins; it's all in the unofficial election results [UPDATED]

March 4, 2009 |  9:03 am

Unofficial results of the Los Angeles city election have Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa solidly winning another four-year term with 56% of votes cast. Villaraigosa received 127,955 votes, according to a final bulletin released by the Los Angeles city clerk's office about 1:30 a.m. The next-closest candidate, Walter Moore, had 60,508 votes.

Councilwoman Wendy Greuel cruised to victory in her bid for city controller with 65% of the vote. Greuel received about 100,000 more votes than her next-closest competitor, Kathleen "Suzy" Evans, who received 40,112 votes. Other races were much more tightly contested.

The race for city attorney is headed for a runoff between Councilman Jack Weiss, who received 36%, and Carmen "Nuch" Trutanich, who received 27%. The race for the 5th District council seat was among the closest in the election and will also be headed to a runoff between David T. Vahedi, who received 22%, or 5,745 votes, and Paul Koretz, who received 21%, or 5,685 votes.

Voters narrowly defeat Measure B, a solar energy and job creation program supported by Villaraigosa. The unofficial tally was 110,505 votes, or 50.30%, against the measure and 109,183 votes, or 49.70%, for it. The results are not yet certified, and election officials must still count provisional ballots.

Updated, 10:15 a.m.: There are approximately 46,000 votes left to count in Tuesday's city election, according to the Los Angeles city clerk's office. Those left include 24,000 vote-by-mail ballots that were delivered on the day of the election, 12,000 provisional ballots and 10,000 "snag" ballots that must be reviewed to determine each voter's intent.

-- Ari B. Bloomekatz