Jacket Copy

Books, authors and all things bookish

« Previous Post | Jacket Copy Home | Next Post »

Man Asian Literary Prize announces shortlist, includes Oe

February 15, 2011 | 10:55 am

Kenzaburooe_changeling The Man Asian Literary Prize announced the shortlist for its 2010 award Tuesday in Hong Kong. Surprising no one, Nobel Prize-winning author Kenzaburo Oe remains in the running.

The five books on the shortlist are:

"Three Sisters" by Bu Feiyu
"Serious Men" by Manu Joseph
"The Thing About Thugs" by Tabish Khair (not yet available in the U.S.)
"The Changeling" by Kenzaburo Oe
"Hotel Iris" by Yoko Ogawa

To be eligible for the 2010 prize, a book must have been written in English or translated into English. Previously, the requirement was just the opposite -- to be eligible, books were not to have been published in English. The move was made to help the Man Asian Literary Prize have greater resonance abroad.

Although books published in 26 countries and territories are eligible for the Man Asian Literary Prize, writers from just three nations -- China, Japan and India -- made the shortlist.

The winner of the Man Asian Literary Prize will be announced at a dinner on March 17 in Hong Kong.


Man Asian longlist is announced, led by Nobel Laureate

-- Carolyn Kellogg