Jacket Copy

Books, authors and all things bookish

« Previous Post | Jacket Copy Home | Next Post »

2011 NEA Literature Fellowships are announced

November 23, 2010 |  1:28 pm

Three Southern California poets are among those who will receive 2011 literature fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, it was announced Tuesday. Out of more than 1,000 applicants, 42 poets were selected; each will receive $25,000.

Maggie Nelson is a poet, memoirist and critic and a professor of writing at CalArts. The NEA grant is the latest in a string of awards for Nelson that includes a Guggenheim Fellowship for nonfiction and an arts writing grant from Creative Capital/the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts. Her most recent book, "Bluets," combines criticism and personal essays; a book of nonfiction, "The Art of Cruelty," is coming from W.W. Norton in summer 2011.

Cecilia Woloch is a lecturer in the creative writing program at USC. "Carpathia," her fifth collection of poetry, was published in 2009 by BOA Editions Ltd. Her work has appeared in Best American Poetry and anthologies edited by Billy Collins and Garrison Keillor, Minnesota Public Radio's The Writers' Almanac and featured in the nationally syndicated column American Life in Poetry; and have been anthologized in Best American Poetry 2005, Billy Collins' 180 More (Extraordinary Poems for Every Day), Garrison Keillor's Good Poems for Hard Times.

David Hernandez lives in Long Beach with his wife, writer Lisa Glatt. His work includesthe award-winning poetry collection "Always Danger" and two novels for young adults published by HarperTeen.

Other California NEA literature fellows include Alexandra Teague of Oakland, Chanda Feldman of San Francisco, Jericho Brown of San Diego and Killarney Clary, who was born in Pasadena and now lives in Aptos.

The emphasis of the NEA's literary fellowships alternates between poetry and prose. The next round of fellowships, to be awarded in 2012, will be for prose. On Tuesday, additional grants in other areas of the arts were announced by the NEA.

 -- Carolyn Kellogg