Jacket Copy

Books, authors and all things bookish

« Previous Post | Jacket Copy Home | Next Post »

SoCal Booksellers announce awards finalists

August 2, 2010 | 10:39 am

The Southern California Independent Booksellers Assn. has announced the finalists for its 2010 awards. Three finalists are named in each of six categories; the winners will be announced at a dinner for booksellers on Oct. 23.

Aimee Bender, a professor of writing at USC, is nominated in the fiction category for her fourth full-length book, "The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake." The novel has been on the L.A. Times' bestseller list for six weeks. Other fiction nominees are by two newcomers: Brando Skyhorse, a longtime editor, makes his fiction debut with the short story collection "The Madonnas of Echo Park," and Joseph Mattson makes a Bukowski-style splash with "Empty  the Sun" on the new press Barnacle Books. 

On the nonfiction side, the first memoir from Homeboy Industries' Father Gregory Boyle (above right), "Tattoos on the Heart," is a finalist. "Tattoos on the Heart" is also an L.A. Times bestseller -- it's been on our list for 16 weeks. "Inventing L.A.: The Chandlers and Their Times" by Bill Boyarksy, a former Times writer, was also nominated; it accompanied a PBS documentary about the family and the paper. Rounding out the nonfiction nominees is Charles Fleming's "Secret Stairs: A Walking Guide to the Historic Staircases of Los Angeles" -- proving, I hope, that people who like to read also get up and take the stairs once in a while.

Awards will also be given in two children's book categories, mystery -- the T. Jefferson Parker award -- and in the Glenn Goldman category, for a book focused on art. The finalists for the 2010 SCIBA awards are:

"The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake" by Aimee Bender
"Empty the Sun" by Joseph Mattson
"The Madonnas of Echo Park" by Brando Skyhorse

"Inventing L.A.: The Chandlers and Their Times" by Bill Boyarksy
"Tattoos on the Heart" by Father Gregory Boyle
"Secret Stairs: A Walking Guide to the Historic Staircases of Los Angeles" by Charles Fleming

T. Jefferson Parker award:
"The First Rule" by Robert Crais
"Silver Lake" by Peter Gadol
"Boulevard" by Stephen Jay Schwartz

Children's novel:
"Pretty Dead" by Francesca Lia Block
"This Book Is Not Good for You" by Pseudonymous Bosch
"Beautiful Creatures" by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Children's picture book:
"Finn McCool and the Great Fish" by Eve Bunting
"All the World" by Marla Frazee
"Goal!" by Mina Javaherbin

Glenn Goldman award:
"Irving Penn: Small Trades" by Virginia A. Heckert and Anne Lacoste
"Los Angeles: Portrait of a City" by Jim Heinman
"Ed Ruscha's Los Angeles" by Alexandra Schwartz

The winners will be announced at the dinner on Oct. 23.

-- Carolyn Kellogg

Photos: Aimee Bender, left, credit Max S. Gerber. Right, Father Gregory Boyle. Credit: Jay L. Clendenin   / Los Angeles Times

Clicking on Green Links will take you to a third-party e-commerce site. These sites are not operated by the Los Angeles Times. The Times Editorial staff is not involved in any way with Green Links or with these third-party sites.