Jacket Copy

Books, authors and all things bookish

« Previous Post | Jacket Copy Home | Next Post »

National Poetry Series: five new winners

September 14, 2009 |  6:55 am


The National Poetry Series has announced the five winners of its 2009 manuscript competition; each winner's work will be published in 2010.

Erica Meitner, who teaches at Virginia Tech, will see her work "Ideal Cities" published by HarperCollins. Penguin will publish "Burn Lake" by Carrie Fountain of Texas. Georgia University Press will publish Colin Cheney's "Here Be Monsters."

Fence Books will publish "The Network" by Jena Osman, who teaches at Temple University. Julie Carr teaches at the University of Colorado; her book "Sarah—Of Fragments and Lines" will be published by Coffee House Press.

The series has published five books of poetry annually since 1979. Mark Doty, Denis Johnson and Billy Collins are past recipients of the honor.

-- Carolyn Kellogg

Photo: Luis Argerich via Flickr