Dodgers Now

The Times' Dodgers reporters give you all the news on the boys in blue

« Previous Post | Dodgers Now Home | Next Post »

So who didn't vote for Dodgers' Clayton Kershaw?

November 17, 2011 |  2:11 pm

Cy-young-award_200The Dodgers' Clayton Kershaw won the National League Cy Young Award on Thursday, getting 27 of 32 first-place votes.

Roy Halladay of the Philadelphia Phillies got four first-place votes. Ian Kennedy of the Arizona Diamondbacks got the remaining first-place vote. You can see the complete voting here.

The Baseball Writers Assn. of America selects two voters to represent each National League market. The logical suspicion among Dodgers fans: Did the Philadelphia voters go with their hometown guy, Halladay? Did an Arizona voter go with his hometown guy, Kennedy?

In both cases, the answer is no.

The first-place votes for Halladay were cast by Ken Davidoff of Newsday (N.Y.), Zachary Levine of the Houston Chronicle, Keith Law of ESPN and Scott Miller of CBS Sports. The first-place vote for Kennedy was cast by John Maffei of the North County Times, representing the San Diego chapter of the BBWAA.

-- Bill Shaikin