Culture Monster

All the Arts, All the Time

« Previous Post | Culture Monster Home | Next Post »

Audra McDonald, Sheldon Epps among 2009 NAACP honorees

August 13, 2009 |  9:35 am

Audra McDonald Sheldon Epps "Private Practice" star Audra McDonald, Pasadena Playhouse Artistic Director Sheldon Epps and several others will be honored Aug. 31 at the 2009 NAACP Theatre Awards. This year's ceremony will celebrate the civil rights organization's 100th anniversary.

McDonald, a four-time Tony Award winner, will be presented with the Trailblazer Award, while Epps will receive the Community Service Award.

Other honorees include Tichina Arnold ("Everybody Hates Chris"), who will be presented with the Spirit Award, and actor-playwright Ruben Santiago-Hudson ("Lackawanna Blues," "Jelly's Last Jam"), who will receive an award for lifetime achievement.

Loretta Devine ("Dreamgirls") and Terry Crews ("Everybody Hates Chris") will host the awards ceremony at the Directors Guild of America Theatre in Hollywood. 

-- Greg Braxton

Photos: Audra McDonald. Credit: Peter Foley / EPA. Sheldon Epps. Credit: Mark Boster / Los Angeles Times