Culture Monster

All the Arts, All the Time

« Previous Post | Culture Monster Home | Next Post »

Michael Rotondi, Daly Genik win AIA/LA's Presidential Awards*

July 28, 2009 |  1:30 pm


What do Madame Tussauds, the new LAPD headquarters and the South Campus at Art Center College of Design in Pasadena all have in common?

Each was designed or co-designed by a winner of this year's AIA/Los Angeles Presidential Awards,  announced this week. While the official ceremony won't be held until the fall, the organization has already unveiled the list of laureates.

The gold medal, or top prize, went to Michael Rotondi, whose past and current works include Madame Tussauds in Hollywood (a rendering is pictured above), L.A.'s Fallen Firefighters Museum and the Sunset Boulevard Center. He was instrumental in the founding of Morphosis and Sci-Arc and is currently the principal of RoTo Architecture.

The firm award went to the Santa Monica-based Daly Genik, which has worked on numerous local projects, including Art Center's South Campus and music facilities at UCLA's Schoenberg Hall.

For the building team of the year, the AIA/L.A. awarded the 15 organizations connected to the LAPD's new headquarters in downtown L.A.

Lifetime achievement went to William Krisel, and the award for public space went to Mia Lehrer + Associates for its Vista Hermosa Park project. Al Nodal, president of the Los Angeles Cultural Affairs Commission, also was honored.

Keep reading for the complete list of winners...

Gold Medal

Michael Rotondi

AIA/LA Firm Award

Daly Genik

Building Team of the Year

LAPD Headquarters: AECOM Design; Roth + Sheppard Architects; Studio 0.10; John Friedman Alice Kimm Architects; City of Los Angeles Bureau of Engineering; Council District #9, city of Los Angeles; Los Angeles Police Department; Nabih Youssef Associates Structural Engineers; TMAD Taylor  Gaines; Meléndrez Landscape Architecture, Planning  Urban Design; Tutor-Saliba Corporation; S.J. Amoroso Construction Co. Inc.; Vanir Construction Management Inc.; Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design Inc.; and Merry Norris Contemporary Art.

25-Year Award (for a building that has stood the test of time)

AC Martin Partners Inc. – for St. Basil Roman Catholic Church

Good Government Award

Adolfo Nodal – president of the Cultural Affairs Commission

Historic Preservation Award

Ken Bernstein – manager of the Office of Historic Resources, city of Los Angeles Department of City Planning

Excellence in Education Award

Sylvia Lavin, Professor – UCLA Department of Architecture and Urban Design

Honorary AIA/Los Angeles Award

Frances Anderton, Hon. AIA/LA – host of DnA: Design  Architecture; and producer: "To the Point" – KCRW; L.A. editor – Dwell magazine

Lifetime Achievement Award

William Krisel, AIA – William Krisel Architect

Public Open Space Award

Mia Lehrer + Associates – Vista Hermosa Park Project

-- David Ng

Photo: A drawing of the $55-million Madame Tussauds wax museum, designed by Michael Rotondi. Credit: ROTO Architects and John Zapf / Pirate Design

* This post updates the photo credits.