Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

'Inception's' Wally Pfister wins American Society of Cinematographers' top film award

February 13, 2011 | 10:34 pm


Wally Pfister won the American Society of Cinematographers award for feature film for Christopher Nolan's complex thriller "Inception" on Sunday night.

It was a big Sunday for "Inception." Earlier in the day, the film won three Orange British Academy Film Awards for production design, visual effects and sound.

At the 25th annual ASC awards, Jonathan Freeman won for episodic television for HBO's "Boardwalk Empire" and Stephen Windon won the TV movie/miniseries honor for HBO's "The Pacific."

Julia Roberts won the Board of Governors Award at the ceremony, which was held at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland. Roger Deakins, who earlier in the day won the BAFTA Award for his cinematography on "True Grit," earned the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award. The ASC International Award went to John Seale of "The English Patient" fame. The Career Achievement in Television Award went to Michael O'Shea of "CSI: Miami." And the ASC Presidents Award went to photographer Douglas Kirkland.

-- Susan King


BAFTA Awards: 'The King's Speech' is crowned with seven wins

New 'Inception' featurette hits the Web

Writers Guild Awards: 'Inception' and 'The Social Network' take screenplay honors

-- Susan King

Photo: Wally Pfister on location for "Inception." Credit: Melissa Moseley / Warner Bros.