Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

Grammy Awards: Lady Antebellum, Jay-Z, Black Keys, Eminem are among winners at pre-telecast

February 13, 2011 |  4:29 pm

In what may turn out to be a portent, Lady Antebellum won for both country performance and country duo/group performance for its crossover smash, "Need You Now," at the 53rd Grammy Awards pre-telecast ceremony, which is concluding at the Staples Center in downtown Los Angeles. The Nashville trio is also up for record of the year and song of the year for the song, as well as album of the year for its crossover recording of the same name.

In the highly competitive rap categories, Jay-Z's "Empire State of Mind" bested friend and rival Eminem's "Love the Way You Lie" in two major rap song categories: rap song and best rap/sung collaboration. Eminem, who is up for 10 awards, snagged the rap solo erformance award for his hit song "Not Afraid." Other winners include Sade, who took home the trophy for R&B performance by a duo or group, and the Roots and John Legend, who won two R&B awards: R&B album and traditional R&B vocal performance.

Akron, Ohio, rock duo the Black Keys, whose 2010 album, "Brother," was one of the most acclaimed releases of the year, won for alternative album and rock performance by a duo or group with vocals, beating out favorite Arcade Fire both times.

The pre-telecast ceremony also honored some elder statesmen of American music. Legendary boogie-woogie pianist Pinetop Perkins, who is 97 years old, beat unlikely competition Cyndi Lauper in the traditional blues album category. And Pete Seeger, who is 92, won musical album for children for his album with the Rivertown Kids and Friends, "Tomorrow's Children."

For complete coverage of the Grammy Awards telecast, which begins at 5 p.m. PST, check back here on Awards Tracker and at our sister blog Pop & Hiss


Live blogging: The Grammy Awards

Complete Grammy coverage

Photo: Lady Antebellum rehearses for the Grammy Awards. Credit: Luis Sinco / Los Angeles Times.