Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

'Social Network' wins best film at New York Film Critics Circle Awards

December 13, 2010 | 11:25 am


"The Social Network" seems unstoppable this award season. After winning best picture Sunday from the Los Angeles Film Critics Assn. and the Boston Society of Film Critics and earning an AFI Award  2010 as one of the best films of the year, the drama about the creation of the social networking site Facebook was named best film Monday by the New York Film Critics Circle.

"I think it is a consistent favorite across the board," said NYFCC chairman Armond White, film critic for the New York Press, about "Social Network." "It seemed to be a big favorite. The group as a whole loved it."

The film, which also was named best film by the National Board of Review of Motion Pictures, also won best director Monday for David Fincher.

Best actress honors went to Annette Bening for her role as a lesbian mother who is troubled when her children find their sperm donor father in "The Kids Are All Right." Mark Ruffalo earned supporting actor for the film and Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg won for their screenplay.

Colin Firth was named best actor as the stammering King George VI in "The King's Speech." The LAFCA also named him best actor on Sunday.

Best supporting actress went to Melissa Leo, as Mark Wahlberg 's manager mother in "The Fighter."

Matthew Libatique earned the best cinematography award for "Black Swan." He was also  LAFCA's pick in this category. Best animated film went to France's traditionally hand-drawn 2D "The Illusionist," in an upset of the highly favored "Toy Story 3."

The best nonfiction film award went to "Inside Job," while "Carlos" was named best foreign language film. Best first feature went to the Australian crime drama "Animal Kingdom."

The NYFCC was founded in 1935 and includes critics from daily newspapers, weekly newspapers, magazines and online sites. Their choices are frequently different than the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences , though both organizations chose "The Hurt Locker" as best film of 2009 and Kathryn Bigelow as best director.

The awards presentation takes place Jan. 10 at the Crimson, in New York's Flatiron district.

-- Susan King

Photo: Jesse Eisenberg, left, and Joseph Mazzello in "The Social Network." Credit: Merrick Morton / Associated Press