Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

Chicago Film Critics Assn. nominations

December 17, 2010 |  2:11 pm


"The Social Network" dominated the Chicago Film Critics Assn.'s nominations Friday, earning nods for best film, best director for David Fincher, best adapted screenplay for Aaron Sorkin, best actor for Jesse Eisenberg, best supporting actor for Andrew Garfield, most promising newcomer for Armie Hammer, best cinematography for Jeff Cronenweth and original score for Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross.

Vying for best picture with "The Social Network" are "Black Swan," "Inception," "The King's Speech" and "Winter's Bone."

Besides Fincher, best director nominations went to Darren Aronofsky for "Black Swan," Debra Granik for "Winter's Bone," Tom Hooper for "The King's Speech" and Christopher Nolan for "Inception."

Joining Eisenberg in the best actor category are Jeff Bridges for 'True Grit," Colin Firth for "The King's Speech" James Franco for "127 Hours" and Ryan Gosling for "Blue Valentine."

Best actress nominations went to Annette Bening for "The Kids Are All Right, " Jennifer Lawrence for "Winter's Bone, " Lesley Manville for "Another Year," Natalie Portman for "Black Swan" and Michelle Williams for "Blue Valentine."

In contention for supporting actor along with Garfield are Christian Bale for "The Fighter, " John Hawkes for "Winter's Bone," Mark Ruffalo for "The Kids Are All Right" and Geoffrey Rush for "The King's Speech."

Nominations in the supporting actress category went to Amy Adams and Melissa Leo for "The Fighter," Helena Bonham Carter for "The King's Speech" and Hailee Steinfeld for "True Grit."

For a complete list of nominations go to

The winners will be announced  Dec. 20

-- Susan King

 Photo: Rooney Mara and Jesse Eisenberg in "The Social Network." Credit: Merrick Morton / Columbia TriStar