Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

Producers' credits determined for 'Blind Side,' 'Hurt Locker' in time for Oscars

February 5, 2010 |  8:17 am


The "extraordinary circumstances" provision of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science's rule on producers' credits for best picture Oscar nominees determined the official listing for "The Blind Side" and "The Hurt Locker." The credits are as follows:

"The Blind Side" -- Gil Netter, Andrew A. Kosove and Broderick Johnson.

"The Hurt Locker" -- Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Nicolas Chartier and Greg Shapiro.

The Academy's rule states that no more than three producers may be listed for best picture nominees; however, extraordinary circumstances may allow the inclusion of a fourth producer. That provision was put into effect after the Academy's Producers Branch Executive Committee found that all four individuals acted as genuine producers on "The Hurt Locker."

The producer credits on the other eight best picture nominees -- "Avatar," "District 9," "Inglourious Basterds," "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire," "An Education," "A Serious Man," "Up" and "Up in the Air" -- remain unchanged since their announcement with the other Oscar nominees on Feb. 2. 

-- Paul Gaita

Photo: Sandra Bullock in "The Blind Side." Credit: Warner Bros. Pictures

More of The Envelope:

List of the 82nd annual Academy Awards nominations

Oscars poll: Will "Avatar" or "The Hurt Locker" win best picture?

Oscars poll: Will Sandra Bullock or Meryl Streep win lead actress?