Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

List of the 82nd annual Academy Award nominations

February 2, 2010 |  5:44 am

Here are the top nominations for the 82nd annual Academy Awards to be held March 7 at the Kodak Theatre.

Best picture

"The Blind Side"
"District 9"
"An Education"
"The Hurt Locker"
"Inglourious Basterds"
"Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire"
"A Serious Man"
"Up in the Air"

Best actor

Jeff Bridges, "Crazy Heart"
George Clooney, "Up in the Air"
Colin Firth "A Single Man"
Morgan Freeman, "Invictus"
Jeremy Renner, "The Hurt Locker"

Best actress

Sandra Bullock, "The Blind Side"
Helen Mirren, "The Last Station"
Carey Mulligan, "An Education"
Gabourey Sidibe, "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire"
Meryl Streep, "Julie & Julia"

Best supporting actor

Matt Damon, "Invictus"
Woody Harrelson, "The Messenger"
Christopher Plummer, "The Last Station"
Stanley Tucci, "The Lovely Bones"
Christoph Waltz, "Inglourious Basterds"

Best supporting actress

Penelope Cruz, "Nine"
Vera Farmiga, "Up in the Air"
Maggie Gyllenhaal, "Crazy Heart"
Anna Kendrick, "Up in the Air"
Mo'Nique, "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire"

Best director

James Cameron, "Avatar"
Kathryn Bigelow, "The Hurt Locker"
Quentin Tarantino, "Inglourious Basterds"
Lee Daniels, "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire"
Jason Reitman, "Up in the Air"

Best animatedfFeature

"Fantastic Mr. Fox"
"The Princess and the Frog"
"The Secret of Kells"

Best foreign language film

“Ajami" (Israel)
“El Secreto de Sus Ojos" (Argentina)
“The Milk of Sorrow" (Peru)
“The Prophet," France
“The White Ribbon," Germany

Best original screenplay

Mark Boal, “The Hurt Locker”
Quentin Tarantino, “Inglourious Basterds”
Alessandro Camon and Oren Moverman, “The Messenger” 
Joel Coen and Ethan Coen, “A Serious Man” 
Bob Peterson, Pete Docter and story by Pete Docter, Bob Peterson, Tom McCarthy, “Up” 

Best adapted screenplay

Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell, “District 9”
Nick Hornby, “An Education” 
Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci and Tony Roche, “In the Loop”
Geoffrey Fletcher, “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”
Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner, “Up in the Air”

Best art direction

Art direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg
Set decoration: Kim Sinclair 
“The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus”
Art direction: Dave Warren and Anastasia Masaro
Set decoration: Caroline Smith
Art direction: John Myhre
Set decoration: Gordon Sim
“Sherlock Holmes”
Art direction: Sarah Greenwood
Set decoration: Katie Spencer
“The Young Victoria”
Art direction: Patrice Vermette
Set decoration: Maggie Gray

Best cinematography

Mauro Fiore, “Avatar” 
Bruno Delbonnel, “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince”
Barry Ackroyd, “The Hurt Locker” 
Robert Richardson, “Inglourious Basterds” 
Christian Berger, “The White Ribbon” 

Best costume design

Janet Patterson, “Bright Star” 
Catherine Leterrier, “Coco Before Chanel” 
Monique Prudhomme, “The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus”
Colleen Atwood, “Nine” 
Sandy Powell, “The Young Victoria” 

Best documentary feature

“Burma VJ”
“The Cove”
“Food, Inc.”
“The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg
and the Pentagon Papers”
“Which Way Home”

Best documentary short

“China’s Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan
“The Last Campaign of Governor Booth Gardner”
“The Last Truck: Closing of a GM Plant”
“Music by Prudence”
“Rabbit à la Berlin”

Best film editing

Stephen Rivkin, John Refoua and James Cameron, “Avatar” 
Julian Clarke, “District 9” 
Bob Murawski and Chris Innis, “The Hurt Locker” 
Sally Menke, “Inglourious Basterds” 
Joe Klotz, “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”

Best makeup

Aldo Signoretti and Vittorio Sodano, “Il Divo” 
Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow, “Star Trek”
Jon Henry Gordon and Jenny Shircore, “The Young Victoria”
Best original score

James Horner, “Avatar” 
Alexandre Desplat, “Fantastic Mr. Fox” 
Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders, “The Hurt Locker” 
Hans Zimmer, “Sherlock Holmes” 
Michael Giacchino, “Up”

Best original song

Music and lyrics by Randy Newman, “Almost There” from “The Princess and the Frog"
Music and lyrics by Randy Newman, “Down in New Orleans” from “The Princess and the Frog”
Music by Reinhardt Wagner and lyrics by Frank Thomas, “Loin de Paname” from “Paris 36”
Music and lyrics by Maury Yeston, “Take It All” from “Nine”
Music and lyrics by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett, “The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart)” from “Crazy Heart”

Best animated short

Fabrice O. Joubert, “French Roast”
Nicky Phelan and Darragh O’Connell, “Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty”
Javier Recio Gracia, “The Lady and the Reaper (La Dama y la Muerte)”
Nicolas Schmerkin, “Logorama”
Nick Park, “A Matter of Loaf and Death”

Best live action short

Juanita Wilson and James Flynn, “The Door”
Patrik Eklund and Mathias Fjellström, “Instead of Abracadabra”
Gregg Helvey, “Kavi”
Luke Doolan and Drew Bailey, “Miracle Fish”
Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson, “The New Tenants”

Best sound editing

Christopher Boyes and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle, “Avatar” 
Paul N.J. Ottosson, “The Hurt Locker” 
Wylie Stateman, “Inglourious Basterds”
Mark Stoeckinger and Alan Rankin, “Star Trek” 
Michael Silvers and Tom Myers, “Up” 

Best sound mixing

Christopher Boyes, Gary Summers, Andy Nelson and Tony Johnson, “Avatar”
Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett, “The Hurt Locker” 
Michael Minkler, Tony Lamberti and Mark Ulano, “Inglourious Basterds”
Anna Behlmer, Andy Nelson and Peter J. Devlin, “Star Trek” 
Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers and Geoffrey Patterson, “Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen”

Best visual effects

Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones, “Avatar”
Dan Kaufman, Peter Muyzers, Robert Habros and Matt Aitken, “District 9”
Roger Guyett, Russell Earl, Paul Kavanagh and Burt Dalton, “Star Trek”

More Academy Awards news:
Oscar nominations announced