Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

Costume Designers Guild nominates 'Avatar,' 'Bruno,' 'Julie & Julia'

January 26, 2010 |  7:00 am

“Avatar,” “Bruno” and “Julie & Julia” are among the nominees for the 12th Annual Costume Designers Guild Awards announced Tuesday morning.

Joining “Avatar” designers Mayes C. Rubeo and Deborah Lynn Scott in the fantasy film category are Monique Prudhomme for “The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus” and Michael Kaplan for “Star Trek.”

“Bruno’s” Jason Alper was nominated in the contemporary film category along with Hope Hanafin for “(500) Days of Summer,” Doug Hall for “Crazy Heart,” Marina Draghici for “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” and Danny Glicker for “Up in the Air.” “Julie & Julia” designer Ann Roth is joined in the period film category by Catherine Leterrier for “Coco Before Chanel,” Colleen Atwood for “Nine,” Jenny Beavan for “Sherlock Holmes” and Sandy Powell for “The Young Victoria.”

Big-love-tv-show On the television side, nominees in the contemporary television series category are Chrisi Karvonides-Dushenko for “Big Love,” Randall Christensen for “Dancing With the Stars,” Lou Eyrich for “Glee,” Jo Katsaras for “The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency” and Patricia Field for “Ugly Betty.”

Nominees for period/fantasy television series are Janie Bryant for “Mad Men,” Audrey Fisher for “True Blood” and Joan Bergin for “The Tudors.”

Vying in the made-for-TV movie or miniseries contest are Michael Dennison for “Georgia O’Keeffe,” Catherine Marie Thomas for “Grey Gardens” and Barbara Kidd for “Little Dorrit.”

The sole nominee for commercial costume design is Casey Storm for “Milkquarious.” Several tribute awards will also be given out at the gala ceremony on Feb. 25 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

“The Young Victoria” star Emily Blunt is receiving the Swarovski Award and costume designer Sandy Powell is the recipient of the Lacoste Career Achievement in Film. Fellow designer Michael Travis is being presented with the Career Achievement in Television Award. Rob Marshall, the director of “Chicago” and “Nine,” is set to receive the Distinguished Collaborator Award. The guild’s Hall of Fame Award will be presented posthumously to Robert Turturice.

-- Susan King


Carl Reiner to host DGA Awards; Cameron, Bigelow, Tarantino to attend

If I ran the Oscars: Ann Magnuson

The Contender Q&A: "An Education" star Alfred Molina

16th Annual Screen Actors Guild scorecard

Top photo: Meryl Streep in "Julie & Julia" Credit: Jonathan Wenk / Columbia Pictures. Bottom photo: Chloe Sevigny, Bill Paxton, Jeanne Tripplehorn and Ginnifer Goodwin in "Big Love." Credit: Lacey Terrell / HBO