Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

Carl Reiner to host DGA Awards; Cameron, Bigelow, Tarantino to attend

January 25, 2010 |  4:23 pm

95907576At 87, Carl Reiner remains one of the funniest men on the planet (Why? For "Your Show of Shows," creating "The Dick Van Dyke Show," co-creating "The 2,000 Year Old Man" with Mel Brooks, directing "The Jerk" and "Where's Poppa?" and on and on). He's also been the Directors Guild of America's host of choice for its annual awards dinner for the last 22 years, and the actor/writer/director/TV legend will repeat his duties for the 62nd DGA Awards on Saturday. You may be assured that Reiner will work circles around most award show hosts half his age this season.

The DGA has also announced the list of presenters for the awards; among them are new-minted Golden Globe winner Christoph Waltz, along with "Avatar" stars Sam Worthington and Zoe Saldana; Gabourey Sidibe and Paula Patton from "Precious," and buzz-heavy thesps Anna Kendrick, Carey Mulligan, Matthew Morrison ("Glee"), and Jeremy Renner ("The Hurt Locker"). 

All five nominees for the guild's Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Films -- James Cameron, Kathryn Bigelow, Jason Reitman, Lee Daniels and Quentin Tarantino -- will also be in attendance. 

The evening will also be marked by the presentation of six special awards. Walt Disney Co. CEO Bob Iger and Warner Bros. CEO Barry Meyer will both receive honorary life memberships, while Roger Goodman, vice president of special projects at ABC, will be honored with the lifetime achievement award in news direction. Oscar nominee and Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award recipient Norman Jewison (director, "In the Heat of the Night," "Moonstruck") will be presented with the lifetime achievement award for motion picture directing, while production manager Cleve Landsberg ("Flashforward") and stage manager/assistant director Maria Jimenez Henley will receive the Franklin J. Schaffner and Frank Capra achievement awards, which pay tribute to excellence in their respective fields.

-- Paul Gaita


If I ran the Oscars: Ann Magnuson

The Contender Q&A: "An Education" star Alfred Molina

16th Annual Screen Actors Guild scorecard

Photo: Carl Reiner. Credit: Getty Images