Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

Barry Levinson to receive WGA's Screen Laurel Award

January 21, 2010 |  6:12 pm


The Writers Guild of America (WGA) has upped the star power for its West Coast awards ceremony: Oscar-winning writer-director Barry Levinson will receive the 2010 Screen Laurel Award at the event, which takes place Feb. 20.

Levinson's credits include such popular and critical hits as "Diner," "Rain Man," "Bugsy," "Avalon," "The Natural" and "Good Morning Vietnam." He earned three Oscar nominations for his screenwriting ("... And Justice for All" with Valerie Curtin, "Diner" and "Avalon") and an additional six WGA nominations, which include three wins for "Avalon," "Time-Warner Presents: The Earth Day Special" and "The Carol Burnett Show." His work as a director has garnered numerous Oscar nominations and a win for "Rain Man."

Previous winners of the Screen Laurel Award, which is given to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the profession of screenwriting, include Mel Brooks, David Mamet, Lawrence Kasdan, Robert Benton and Horton Foote. The news of Levinson's award comes on the heels of the guild bestowing the Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award on "Curb Your Enthusiam" star Larry David at the same ceremony.

-- Paul Gaita

Photo: Barry Levinson. Credit: Getty Images. 

More from The Circuit:

Cinema Audio Society nominees announced 

"Avatar," "Locker," "An Education" lead BAFTA Award nominations