Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

ACE Eddie Award noms continue sci-fi's strong showing with 'Avatar,' 'Star Trek'

January 11, 2010 |  9:07 pm

Science fiction films soared in the best edited feature film category for the American Cinema Editors' 60th Annual ACE Eddie Awards announced Monday evening.

Scifiduo "Avatar" (Stephen Rivkin, John Refoua & James Cameron), "District 9" (Julian Clarke), and "Star Trek" (Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey) were nominated in the dramatic feature film category along with "The Hurt Locker" (Bob Murawski and Chris Innis) and "Up in the Air" (Dana Glauberman). Nominees in the comedy or music category are "(500) Days of Summer" (Alan Edward Bell), "The Hangover" (Debra Neil-Fisher), "Julie & Julie" (Richard Marks), "A Serious Man" (Roderick Jaynes, who is actually Joel and Ethan Coen) and "It's Complicated" (Joe Hutshing and David Moritz).

Vying in the animated feature film category are "Coraline" (Christopher Murrie and Ronald Sanders), "Fantastic Mr. Fox" (Andrew Weisblum) and "Up" (Kevin Nolting).

On the television front, the nominees in the best-edited half-hour series for television category include Ken Eluto for the "Apollo Apollo" episode for "30 Rock," Steven Rasch for the "Bare Midriff" episode of "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and Steven Sprung for the "The Sorkin Notes" installment of "Entourage."  Nominees for best-edited one-hour series for commercial television are Leon Ortiz Gil for the "8 p.m. to 9 p.m." episode of "24;" Lynne Willingham for the "ABQ" episode of "Breaking Bad;" Randy Jon Morgan and Jacque Toberen for the "And in the End" episode of "ER;" Karen Stern for the "Hardwired" installment of "Law & Order: SVU;" and Christopher Nelson for the "The Life and Death of Jeremy Bentham" installment of "Lost." For more information on the nominees and the American Cinema Editors, go to the official site.

The winners will be announced Feb. 14 in a ceremony at the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

-- Susan King

Photo: Jake Sully (Sam Worthington) in "Avatar" and Spock (Zachary Quinto) in "Star Trek." Credit: 20th Century Fox / Paramount Pictures

A full list of nominees, provided by the American Cinema Editors, follows ...

Nominees for the 60th Annual ACE Eddie Awards

Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic):
Stephen Rivkin, A.C.E., John Refoua, A.C.E. & James Cameron, A.C.E.

"District 9"
Julian Clarke

"The Hurt Locker"
Bob Murawski & Chris Innis

"Star Trek"
Maryann Brandon, A.C.E. & Mary Jo Markey, A.C.E.

"Up in the Air"
Dana Glauberman, A.C.E.

Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy Or Musical):
"500 Days of Summer"
Alan Edward Bell

"The Hangover"
Debra Neil-Fisher, A.C.E.

"Julie & Julia"
Richard Marks, A.C.E.

"A Serious Man"
Roderick Jaynes

"It's Complicated"
Joe Hutshing, A.C.E. & David Moritz

Best Edited Animated Feature Film:
Christopher Murrie & Ronald Sanders

"Fantastic Mr. Fox"
Andrew Weisblum

Kevin Nolting

Best Edited Half-Hour Series For Television:
"Apollo Apollo" episode of "30 Rock"
Ken Eluto, A.C.E.

"The Bare Midriff" episode of "Curb Your Enthusiasm"
Steven Rasch, A.C.E.

"The Sorkin Notes" episode of "Entourage"
Steven Sprung, A.C.E.

Best Edited One-Hour Series For Commercial Television:
(First time with 5 Nominees)
"8pm-9pm" episode of "24"
Leon Ortiz Gil, A.C.E.

"ABQ" episode of "Breaking Bad"
Lynne Willingham, A.C.E.

"And in the End" episode of "ER"
Randy Jon Morgan, A.C.E. & Jacque Toberen

"Hardwired" episode of "Law & Order SVU"
Karen Stern, A.C.E.

"The Life and Death of Jeremy Bentham" episode of "Lost"
Christopher Nelson, A.C.E.

Best Edited One-Hour Series For Non-Commercial Television:
"Living the Dream" episode of "Dexter"
Stewart Schill

"Remains to be Seen" episode of "Dexter"
Louis Cioffi

"Hard-Hearted Hannah" episode of "True Blood"
Louise Innes

Best Edited Miniseries Or Motion Picture For Television:
"Grey Gardens"
Alan Heim, A.C.E. & Lee Percy, A.C.E.

"Into The Storm"
John Bloom & Antonia Van Drimmelen

"Taking Chance"
Lee Percy, A.C.E. & Brian A. Kates, A.C.E.

Best Edited Documentary:
"The Cove"
Geoffrey Richman

"Food, Inc."
Kim Roberts

"This Is It"
Don Brochu & Kevin Stitt, A.C.E.

Best Edited Reality Series:
Stay Focused Ordie episode of "The Deadliest Catch"
Kelly Coskran & Josh Earl

Stanley and Livingstone episode of "Expedition Africa"
Jonathon Braun, A.C.E., Brad Ley, Sven Pape & Molly Schock

The Last Supper episode of "Top Chef"
Annie Tighe, Alan Hoang, Adrienne Salisbury & Kevin Leffler