Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

Tuesday Roundup: Stars come out for People's Choice Awards 2010; Tarantino, Cotillard are latest Palm Springs Film Fest honorees

December 29, 2009 |  1:33 pm

Quentin Tarantino - release

Star-Studded Department: The place to eyeball celebs en masse will most definitely be the People's Choice Awards 2010. This year's ceremony, which will be broadcast live from the Nokia Theatre on Jan. 6, will feature a cross-section of talent from every medium, including Hugh Jackman, Sandra Bullock, "New Moon" star Taylor Lautner (hold those screams, please), Carrie Underwood, Keith Urban, Ellen DeGeneres, Jackie Chan, Hugh Laurie, Ashton Kutcher and whoever else isn't committed to another event that evening. The show also promises an opening number by host Queen Latifah and "surprise guests" as well as a performance by Mary J. Blige.

As in previous years, the People's Choice winners are determined by viewer votes, and the tally received so far is a record-breaking 60 million (!). You can still weigh in with your own two cents in two categories -- Favorite New TV Comedy and Favorite New TV Drama -- until show night by visiting the People's Choice website.

Meanwhile, the notable and quotable continue to multiply at the Palm Springs International Film Festival (PSIFF). This year's edition -- the 21st in the fest's history -- will present "Inglourious Basterds" writer-director Quentin Tarantino with the Sonny Bono Visionary Award, while "Nine" star Marion Cotillard will receive the Desert Palm Achievement Actress Award. Both are previous Oscar winners -- Tarantino for his screenplay for "Pulp Fiction" (with Roger Avary) and Cotillard for "La Vie en Rose." They join an already impressive list of fellow honorees at the Jan. 5 Awards Gala, including Morgan Freeman, Jeff Bridges, Helen Mirren, Anna Kendrick and others.

The PSIFF has established itself as a fairly accurate predictor of the Oscars, so how might these awards affect QT and Marion's chances? Well, previous recipients of the Bono Award include academy nominees Gus Van Sant, Todd Field and M. Night Shyamalan, while the Desert Palm Actress Award can claim Oscar winners Halle Berry, Kate Winslet and Charlize Theron, as well as Oscar nominee Anne Hathaway. If you were a betting person, your money might be on Marion -- mightn't it?

-- Paul Gaita

Photo: Quentin Tarantino. Credit: The Weinstein Co./Palm Springs International Film Festival. 

More from The Circuit:

Year-end best list of year-end best lists

Monday Roundup