Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

'The Hurt Locker' wins Gotham's best feature award

November 30, 2009 |  8:00 pm


Kathryn Bigelow’s gritty Iraq War drama “The Hurt Locker” was named best feature of 2009 at the 19th annual Gotham Independent Film Awards on Monday evening in New York.

Presented by the Independent Filmmaker Project, the country’s oldest and largest organization of independent filmmakers, the IFP also awarded best ensemble performance to the stars of “Hurt Locker” — Jeremy Renner, Anthony Mackie, Brian Geraghty, Ralph Fiennes, Guy Pearce, David Morse and Evangeline Lilly.

“Food, Inc.,” produced and directed by Robert Kenner, earned best documentary honors, and the breakthrough director award was given to Robert Siegel, the writer/director of “Big Fan.”

Portman-gotham-link Chilean actress Catalina Saavedra was named best breakthrough actor for “The Maid.” “You Won’t Miss Me,” directed, produced and co-written by Ry Russo-Young, won in the category of best film not playing at a theater near you. Russo-Young also received a cash award of $5,000.

The ceremony was held at Cipriani Wall Street ballroom. In addition to the awards, career tributes were given to actors Natalie Portman and Stanley Tucci, director Bigelow and producer/executives Tim Bevan and Eric Fellner, co-chairman of Working Title Films. Comedian Kumail Nanjiani hosted the event.

The Gotham Independent Film Award heralds the unofficial arrival of the movie awards season, which culminates with the Academy Awards on March 7. Next up are the nominations Tuesday morning for the Film Independent Spirit Awards, then the winners of the National Board of Review of Motion Pictures, which will be announced Thursday afternoon.

-- Susan King

Photo: "The Hurt Locker." Credit: Summit Entertainment