Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

IFP to honor Natalie Portman, Stanley Tucci, Kathryn Bigelow at Gotham Awards

September 24, 2009 |  5:32 pm


The Independent Film Project, the oldest and largest organization of independent filmmakers in America, announced that career tributes will be given to actors Natalie Portman and Stanley Tucci, director Kathryn Bigelow, pictured, and producers Tim Bevan and Eric Fellner at the 19th Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards. The ceremony, previously scheduled for Dec. 1, is slated for Nov. 30.

Each of the honorees has a lengthy career in independent film; Bigelow has alternated between offbeat and art-house fare ("The Loveless," "Near Dark," "The Weight of Water") and Hollywood products ("Point Break," "K19 The Widowmaker") throughout her career. Her most recent effort is the critical and festival hit "The Hurt Locker."Oscar-nominee Portman has also kept a foot in both worlds, with credits including "Garden State" and the "Star Wars" prequel trilogy, while Tucci -- one of the top character actors working today -- has maintained an interest in independent film from both sides of the camera. As an actor, he has appeared in features including the recent "Julie and Julia," the upcoming "Lovely Bones," "Road to Perdition" and countless others. He has also directed or co-directed such indie favorites as "Big Night," "The Imposters" (both with Campbell Scott) and the upcoming "Hunter."

Bevan and Fellner's Working Title Films have earned six Oscars, 26 BAFTA Awards and countless prizes from the Cannes and Berlin international film festivals. Among their 90-plus films are such acclaimed productions as "Frost/Nixon," "Four Weddings and a Funeral," "Notting Hill," both "Bridget Jones" movies, "United 93," "Shaun of the Dead" and seven collaborations with the Coen brothers, including the Toronto International Film Festival hit "A Serious Man."

Nominees for the 19th Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards will be announced Oct. 19.

-- Paul Gaita

Photo: Getty Images