Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

ALMA Awards 2009 nominees

August 25, 2009 |  4:16 pm
EvaLongoriastory Eva Longoria Parker invited the media to her Beso restaurant in Hollywood this morning, not for breakfast, but for some big news -- this year’s American Latino Media Arts Awards nominees.

The announcement, which included nods and honors for Salma Hayek, Jessica Alba and Penelope Cruz, is just a precursor to the Sept. 18 award show set to air on ABC. George Lopez will join Longoria Parker as cohost this year.

One change fans can expect in the format this year: specially produced packages highlighting Latinos in their entertainment field, this includes one performer from each category receiving a Special Achievement honor.

This year’s categories and honorees are as follows:

Year in Television
Special Achievement Honorees

Comedy Actor:
Charlie Sheen, "Two and a Half Men"
Demián Bichir, "Weeds"
George Lopez, "Mr. Troop Mom"
Horatio Sanz, "In the Motherhood"
Jake T. Austin, "Wizards of Waverly Place"
James Roday, "Psych"
Joshua Gomez, "Chuck"
Mark Indelicato, "Ugly Betty"
Oscar Nunez, "The Office"
Ricardo Antonio Chavira, "Desperate Housewives"
Tony Plana, "Ugly Betty"

Comedy Actress:
America Ferrera, "Ugly Betty"
Ana Ortiz, "Ugly Betty"
Eva Longoria Parker, "Desperate Housewives"
Jamie-Lynn Sigler, "Entourage"
Jessica Alba, "The Office"
Joanna Garcia, "Privileged"
Judy Reyes, "Scrubs"
Lupe Ontiveros, "Reaper"
Maria Canals-Barrera, "Wizards of Waverly Place"
Nadine Velazquez, "My Name Is Earl"
Rosie Perez, "Lipstick Jungle"
Salma Hayek, "30 Rock"
Selena Gomez, "Wizards of Waverly Place"

Drama Actor:
Adam Rodriguez, "CSI Miami"
Amaury Nolasco, "Prison Break"
Benito Martinez, "The Shield"
Benjamin Bratt, "The Cleaner"
Cristian de la Fuente, "In Plain Sight"
Danny Pino, "Cold Case"
Edward James Olmos, "Battlestar Galactica"
Enrique Murciano, "Without a Trace"
Esai Morales, "Jericho"
Jimmy Smits, "Dexter"
Jorge Garcia, "Lost"
Miguel Sandoval, "Medium"
Nestor Carbonell, "Lost"
David Zayas, "Dexter"

Drama Actress:
Alana De La Garza, "Law & Order"
Cote de Pablo, "NCIS"
Dania Ramirez, "Heroes"
Eva La Rue, "CSI Miami"
Francia Raisa, "The Secret Life Of The American Teenager"
Julie Gonzalo, "Eli Stone"
Justina Machado, "ER"
Laura Cerón, "ER"
Lauren Vélez, "Dexter"
Michelle Rodriguez, "Lost"
Paola Turbay, "The Secret Life Of The American Teenager"; "The Closer"
Paula Garcés, "The Shield'
Roselyn Sanchez, "Without a Trace"
Sara Ramirez, "Grey's Anatomy"

Year in Film
Special Achievement Honorees

Alfred Molina, "Pink Panther 2"
Cheech Marin, "Race to Witch Mountain"
Freddy Rodriguez, "Nothing Like the Holidays"
Oscar Nunez, "The Proposal"
Clifton Collins Jr., "Star Trek"; "Crank: High Voltage"
Efren Ramirez, "Crank: High Voltage"
Javier Bardem, "Vicky Cristina Barcelona"
Joaquin Phoenix, "Two Lovers"
John Leguizamo, "Nothing Like the Holidays"
Luis Guzmán, "The Taking of Pelham 123"
Ramon Rodriguez, "Transformers: Revenge of The Fallen"

Elisabeth Peña, "Nothing Like the Holidays"
Sofía Vergara, "Madea Goes to Jail"
Cameron Diaz, "My Sister's Keeper"
Eva Mendes, "The Women, The Spirit"
Michelle Rodriguez, "Fast & Furious"
Penélope Cruz, "Vicky Cristina Barcelona"
Rosario Dawson, "Seven Pounds"
Zoe Saldana, "Star Trek"

Year in Music
Special Achievement Honorees


David Archuleta—Male Rising Star
Enrique Iglesias
Pitbull—Hot Track Christina Aguilera
Demi Lovato
Kat DeLuna—Female Rising Star
Lynda Carter
Black Eyed Peas

Year Behind the Scenes
Special Achievement Honorees

David Ortiz, Producer, "Fast & Furious"; "Hellboy 2: The Golden Army"
Guillermo del Toro, Director, "Hellboy 2: The Golden Army"
Kenny Ortega, Director, "HSM3"
Linda Mendoza, Director, various productions, including "Jonas"; "Scrubs"
Natalie Chaidex, Co-Executive Producer, "Terminator: Sarah Conner Chronicles"
Peter Murrieta, Writer/Executive Producer, "Wizards of Waverly Place"
Rene Echevarria, Executive Producer/Writer, "Medium"
Roberto Orci, Writer, "Star Trek"; "Transformers 2"; Executive Producer, "The Proposal" (TV: "Fringe")
Salma Hayek, Executive Producer, "Ugly Betty"
Louis J. Horvitz, Director, Awards Specials
Claudio Miranda, Cinematographer, "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" (Oscar Nominee)
Mike Elizalde, Makeup, "Hellboy II: The Golden Army" (Oscar Nominee)
Jeanne Van Phue, Makeup, "Twilight"
Mary Ann Valdes, Hair Stylist, "Twilight"; "Ugly Betty"
Silvio Horta, Executive Producer/Writer, "Ugly Betty"
Edward James Olmos, Director, "Battlestar Galactica"
Moctesuma Esparza, Executive Producer/Executive, Independent Films
Alfredo De Villa, Director, "Nothing Like the Holidays"
Rick Najera, Writer, "Nothing Like the Holidays"

Year in Sports Television
Special Achievement Honorees

Albert Pujols, Baseball, St. Louis Cardinals
Alex Rodriguez, Baseball, New York Yankees
Bobby Martinez, Surfing
Carmelo Anthony, Basketball, Denver Nuggets
Cuauhtemoc Blanco, Soccer, Chicago Fire
Emanuel David “Manu” Ginóbili, Basketball, San Antonio Spurs
Evan Longoria, Baseball, Tampa Bay Devilrays
Helio Castroneves, Racecar Driving, IndyCar
Juan Manuel Marquez, Boxing
Juan Pablo Montoya, Racecar Driving, NASCAR
Lorena Ochoa, Golf
Luis Castillo, Football, San Diego Chargers
Mark Sanchez, Football, University of Southern California (USC)
Miguel Cotto, Boxing
Milka Duno, Racecar Driving, IndyCar
Ovidio DeLeon, Windsurfing
Pau Gasol, Basketball, Los Angeles Lakers
Paul Rodriguez Jr., Skateboarding
Rafael Nadal, Tennis
Rey Mysterio, World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE)
Tony Gonzalez, Football, Kansas City Chiefs (recently traded to Atlanta Falcons)
Tony Romo, Football, Dallas Cowboys
Dara Torres, Swimming, Olympian

Other special tributes and honors:
Anthony Quinn Award for Industry Excellence
Salma Hayek
Special Achievement in Sports Television
Oscar De La Hoya
Tribute to Ricardo Montalban
Presented by Rita Moreno
Fashion Icon Award

(online voting)

Photo Credit: Alberto E. Rodriguez / Getty Images