Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

Michael Haneke's 'The White Ribbon' wins Palme d'Or at Cannes

May 24, 2009 | 12:01 pm

The Associated Press has distributed a list of winners presented Sunday at the 62nd Cannes Film Festival, chosen by a jury headed by French Actress Isabelle Huppert.

Updates to come. The winners are as follows:

--Palme d'Or (Golden Palm): "The White Ribbon," by Michael Haneke (Austria)

--Grand Prize: "A Prophet," by Jacques Audiard (France)

--Jury Prize: "Fish Tank," by Andrea Arnold (Britain) and "Thirst," By Park Chan-wook (South Korea)

--Special Prize: Alain Resnais

--Best Director: Brillante Mendoza, "Kinatay" (The Philippines)

--Best Actor: Christoph Waltz, "Inglourious Basterds" (United States)

--Best Actress: Charlotte Gainsbourg, "Antichrist" (Denmark)

--Best Screenplay: Feng Mei, "Spring Fever" (China)

--Camera d'Or (first-time director): "Samson and Delilah," by Warwick Thornton (Australia)

--Best short film: "Arena," by Joao Salaviza (Portugal)

--Associated Press