Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

'Made in China,' '45365' and 'That Evening Sun' take SXSW film awards

March 17, 2009 |  7:30 pm

Eveningsun_2 Award winners for the South by Southwest Film Conference and Festival were announced Tuesday evening at the Austin, Texas, fest’s closing ceremonies. The prizes were divided into jury awards and audience awards.

Judi Krant’s “Made in China,” about an inventor lost in Shanghai, won the jury award for best narrative feature and also took home the SXSW / Chicken & Egg Emergent Woman Award.

Bill Ross’ examination of daily life in middle America, “45365,” received the documentary feature award with an honorary mention going to “The Way We Get By,” Aron Gaudet’s look at a group of senior citizens who have greeted nearly a million U.S. troops at airports.

The best ensemble cast jury prize went to “That Evening Sun,” director Scott Teems’ look at a ruthless grudge match between old foes in Tennessee starring Hal Holbrook. The film also received the audience award for best narrative feature.

Jennifer Steinman’s “Motherland” received the Emerging Visions audience award. The film chronicles the journey to Africa taken by six grieving mothers in search of healing.

Geralyn Pezanoski’s examination of race, class and animal welfare in the wake of Hurricane Katrina in “Mine” earned the audience prize for documentary feature.

Two more audience awards — called 24 Beats Per Second and Lone Star States — will be announced on Friday.

In the special jury awards categories, “The Dungeon Masters” won the SXSW & AIGA Austin Movie Poster Award, and “Sister Wife,” an exploration of the challenges of a Mormon fundamentalist, earned the SXSW Wholpin Short Film Award.

Winners of the shorts jury awards include “Thompson” in the Reel Shorts category and “Shaman” for animated short film. “Sweet Dreams” was the recipient of the special jury award in animation. The Experimental Shorts winner was “Cattle Call”; “The Idiot Stinks,” about angst, media and martians, earned the special jury award.

Thunderheist’s “Jerk It” won the music video award with the special jury award going to Fleet Foxes’ “White Winter Hymnal.” A special mention went to New Pornographers’ “Myriad Harbor.”

The Texas High School Competition honor went to “Performance Evaluation” from director Breannah Gibson with the special jury award going to both “Fresh Fruit” and “A Hospital Bathroom.”

--Susan King

Photo: South By Southwest Film Festival