Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

'Slumdog' wins again -- at Costume Designers Guild Awards

February 17, 2009 | 10:00 pm

Dance_kdsfd7nc_300 “Slumdog Millionaire” added yet another accolade to its award coffers with Suttirat Larlab winning the honor for excellence in contemporary film at the 11th annual Costume Designers Guild Awards on Tuesday evening.

Michael O’Connor earned the award for excellence in period film for “The Duchess” at the gala ceremony at the Beverly Wilshire hotel, which was hosted by actress Debra Messing. Lindy Hemming won the guild’s fantasy film award for “The Dark Knight.”

On the television side, Donna Zakowska won for outstanding made-for-television movie or miniseries for her costume work on “John Adams.” Eduardo Castro and Patricia Field took home the award for a contemporary television series for their contribution to “Ugly Betty,” and Katherine Jane Bryant won in the period/fantasy TV series category for “Mad Men.”

Casey Storm earned the award for excellence in commercial costume design for the California milk industry’s “White Gold” campaign.

Several special awards were handed out Tuesday evening. Michael Douglas received the Swarovski President’s Award, and James Burrows earned the Distinguished Collaborator Award. Veteran costume designer Marilyn Vance was the recipient of the Lacoste Career Achievement in Film Award. Van Broughton Ramsey earned the Career Achievement in Television Award.

— Susan King

(Photo courtesy Fox Searchlight)