All The Rage

The Image staff muses on the culture of
keeping up appearances

« Previous Post | All The Rage Home | Next Post »

Proenza Schouler, Michael Bastian and Alexander Wang take CFDA Fashion Awards

June 7, 2011 |  9:45 am

The fashion industry hosted its annual love-fest Monday night in New York, the Council of Fashion Designers of America Fashion Awards. Anderson Cooper hosted the event at Lincoln Center's Alice Tully Hall, and Lady Gaga was honored with the Fashion Icon Award (and accompanied by her parents).

When it came to the other winners, there were few surprises. Proenza Schouler's Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez took the womenswear designer of the year award, rolling off two strong runway seasons last year. And Michael Bastian took the menswear designer of the year award.

Wang Alexander Wang nabbed the accessory designer of the year honor, which was presented by the fabulously accessorized Iris Apfel (left), and the uber-talented Prabal Gurung won the Swarovski award for womenswear. (The Swarovski awards honor emerging talents and include financial support and all-you-can-use crystals for future collections; Robert Geller won in the menswear category and jewelry designer Eddie Borgo for accessory design.)

Sofia Coppola presented the Geoffrey Beene lifetime achievement award to Marc Jacobs (because the CFDA had to stop giving him the womenswear designer of the year award after umpteen years). And Kanye West, everyone's favorite globetrotting front-row fashion show guest, presented the international award to Celine's Phoebe Philo for her consistently trendsetting collections.

Michael Kors presented the media wward to the London Telegraph's beloved fashion editor Hilary Alexander, who is retiring this year, and InStyle's Hal Rubenstein won the founders award for his contributions to journalism. Vogue's Grace Coddington presented a special board of directors award to photographer Arthur Elgort.

Nominees, honorees and winners for the CFDA Awards are determined by a selection committee comprised of council members, fashion journalists, stylists and retail executives.

On the red -- um, purple -- carpet, many designers wore their own designs. Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen were in the Row, showing off their new handbags for the line, while Chloe Sevigny wore a leather eyelet top and white skirt from her collection for Opening Ceremony.

-- Booth Moore


Design talent: Los Angeles' Gregory Parkinson is headed to Paris with the Fashion Fund

Council of Fashion Designers of America announces 2011 award nominees and honorees

Top photo: Lady Gaga on the purple carpet at the Council of Fashion Designers of America Fashion Awards in New York Monday night. The pop singer won the fashion icon award. Credit: David X. Prutting / CFDA

Bottom photo: Alexander Wang, left, and Iris Apfel. Credit: Andrew Kelly / Reuters