Varsity Times Insider

Times reporters blog about high school
sports across the Southland

« Previous Post | Varsity Times Insider Home | Next Post »

Football: City Section approves playoff changes

March 11, 2013 |  9:37 am

The City Section's Interscholastic Athletic Committee gave final approval on Monday to a revision of the football playoff divisions that will create three divisions _ I, II and III.

Previously, there was only Division I and II championships. There will be 21 schools in Division I, 24 in Division II and 25 in Division III. Each will have a 16-team playoff bracket.

Here's where teams will compete this fall:

Division I: Narbonne, Carson, San Pedro, Crenshaw, Venice, Dorsey, Birmingham, Garfield, South East, Taft, Fairfax, Gardena, Arleta, Canoga Park, Banning, El Camino Real, Palisades, Jefferson, Locke, Reseda, Roosevelt.

Division II: Van Nuys, Westchester, Sylmar, Marshall, Granada Hills, Lincoln, San Fernando, Hamilton, West Adams, Bell, Verdugo Hills, Cleveland, Fremont, South Gate, Washington, Eagle Rock, Franklin, Chatsworth, Univeristy, Manual Arts, Huntington Park, Kennedy, Jordan, North Hollywood.

Division III: View Park, Grant, Wilson, Contreras, Santee, Bernstein, Poly, Torres, Hollywood, Los Angeles, Panorama, Roybal, Belmont, Monroe, Animo South, Douglass, Sun Valley, Rancho Dominguez, Chavez, South Region No. 2, Angelou, Hawkins, South Region No. 12, South Region No. 9.

-- Eric Sondheimer