Varsity Times Insider

Times reporters blog about high school
sports across the Southland

« Previous Post | Varsity Times Insider Home | Next Post »

Football: New schools placed in leagues for City Section

January 29, 2013 |  8:07 am

The City Section Interscholastic realignment committee has assigned five new schools competing in football this fall to new leagues.

Sotomayor will join the Northern League and Hawkins, Marquez, South Region No. 9 and South Region No. 12 will be part of the newly formed Exposition League.

In 2014, there is a planned total realignment of leagues for all sports.

The league makeups:

Coliseum: Crenshaw, Dorsey, Locke, Manual Arts, Rancho Dominguez, West Adams. Marine: Banning, Carson, Gardena, Narbonne, San Pedro, Washington. Western: Fairfax, Hamilton, Palisades, University, Venice, Westchester. Expo: Hawkins, Marquez, South Region No. 9, South Region No. 12.

Eastern: Bell, Garfield, Hunington Park, Jordan, Roosevelt, South East, South Gate. Northern: Eagle Rock, Franklin, Lincoln, Marshall, Sotomayor, Wilson. Central: Belmont, Bernstein, Contreras, Hollywood, Roybal, Torres. Southern: Angelou, Fremont, Jefferson, Los Angeles, Santee, South Region No. 2.

East Valley: Arleta, Chavez, Grant, Monroe, North Hollywood, Poly, Verdugo Hills. Valley Mission: Canoga Park, Kennedy, Panorama, Reseda, San Fernando, Sylmar, Van Nuys. West Valley: Birmingham, Chatsworth, Cleveland, El Camino Real, Granada Hills, Taft.

Metro: Animo South, Douglass, Sun Valley, View Park.

Eight-man Valley: Discovery Prep, East Valley, Fulton, Ivy, Sherman Oaks. Eight-Man City: Animo Jackie Robinson, Annenberg, Bright Star.

-- Eric Sondheimer