Varsity Times Insider

Times reporters blog about high school
sports across the Southland

« Previous Post | Varsity Times Insider Home | Next Post »

Football: City Section expected to add third playoff division

January 28, 2013 | 12:56 pm

The City Section's Interscholastic Athletic Committee gave initial approval on Monday to a proposal to add a third playoff division for the football playoffs. A final decision is expected in March.

This fall, there will be playoffs in Divisions I, II and III, with 16-team tournaments. Here's the breakdown on where schools will be competing.

Division I: Narbonne, Carson, San Pedro, Crenshaw, Venice, Dorsey, Birmingham, Garfield, South East, Taft, Fairfax, Gardena, Arleta, Canoga Park, Banning, El Camino Real, Palisades, Jefferson, Locke, Reseda, Roosevelt.

Division II: Van Nuys, Westchester, Sylmar, Marshall, Granada Hills, Lincoln, San Fernando, Hamilton, West Adams, Bell, Verdugo Hills, Cleveland, Fremont, South Gate, Washington, Eagle Rock, Franklin, Chatsworth, University, Manual Arts, Huntington Park, Kennedy, Jordan, North Hollywood, Grant.

Division III: View Park, Wilson, Contreras, Santee, Bernstein, Poly, Torres, Hollywood, Los Angeles, Panorama, Roybal, Belmont, Monroe, Animo South, Douglass, Sun Valley, Rancho Dominguez, Chavez, South Region No. 2, Angelou, Sotomayor, Hawkins, South Region No. 12, South Region No. 9, Marquez.

-- Eric Sondheimer