Varsity Times Insider

Times reporters blog about high school
sports across the Southland

« Previous Post | Varsity Times Insider Home | Next Post »

Football: St. John Bosco wins Trinity League championship

November 2, 2012 | 10:17 pm

In a statement game one week before the Pac-5 Division playoffs begin, Bellflower St. John Bosco won its first Trinity League championship with a 42-15 victory over Santa Margarita on Friday night at St. John Bosco. Running back Darren Walker scored three touchdowns.

The Braves (6-4, 5-0) will be one of the top three seeds in the Pac-5 Division despite having to forfeit four victories because of an ineligible player. They are 10-0 on the field. Mater Dei (8-2) finished second and Santa Margarita (8-2) third in the Trinity League.

Ventura St. Bonaventure (9-1), ranked No. 1 in this week’s Pac-5 coaches poll, rallied from a 21-0 deficit to defeat Westlake Village Oaks Christian, 30-21, in the Marmonte League championship game. Zachary Green rushed for 250 yards and four touchdowns. His two-point conversion run with 4:33 left gave the Seraphs their first lead.

In the Serra League, Mission Hills Alemany and Sherman Oaks Notre Dame finished co-champions. Alemany defeated Loyola, 45-17. Brandon Boyd had an interception return for a touchdown and Deshone Randall scored two touchdowns.

Notre Dame defeated La Puente Bishop Amat, 49-28. Running back Khalfani Muhammad rushed for 261 yards in 35 carries and scored four touchdowns to help the Knights earn their first Pac-5 playoff berth since 2009.

Bishop Amat (7-2-1) and Encino Crespi (8-2) could get Pac-5 at-large berths from the Serra Leaguer after San Juan Capistrano JSerra upset Orange Lutheran, 41-6.

In the Alpha League, Lancaster Paraclete won the championship with a 31-17 victory over Chatsworth Sierra Canyon, which had a 24-game win streak come to an end.

In the City Section, Venice won the Western League, Crenshaw took the Coliseum League, Narbonne won the Marine League, Birmingham took the West Valley League, Verdugo Hills took the East Valley League, Van Nuys won the Valley Mission League and Eagle Rock won the Northern League, all with unbeaten league records. Narbonne’s Troy Williams had six touchdown passes in a 53-7 victory over Gardena, giving the Gauchos a 10-0 record.

-- Eric Sondheimer