Varsity Times Insider

Times reporters blog about high school
sports across the Southland

« Previous Post | Varsity Times Insider Home | Next Post »

Football: Pools finalized for June 9 Dana Hills tournament

May 29, 2012 |  9:14 am

There probably won't be a stronger seven-on-seven summer passing tournament than the June 9 Nike Air Strike tournament at Dana Hills. Action begins at 8:30 a.m. with the championship game at 5 p.m.

Just look at division B: Alemany, Mater Dei, Mission Viejo and Upland. It's too bad they can't put pads on. They'd sell out the stadium in June.

Alemany plays Mater Dei at 8:30 a.m. to start the tournament, then faces Mission Viejo at 9:30 a.m.

Division A: Chaminade, Dana Hills, Oaks Christian, Tesoro.

Division C: Capistrano Valley, Long Beach Poly, Narbonne, San Clemente.

Division D: Edison, El Toro, Loyola, Santa Margarita.

All 16 teams qualify for the single-elimination tournament that begins at 1 p.m.

Teams could end up playing as many as seven games.

-- Eric Sondheimer