Varsity Times Insider

Times reporters blog about high school
sports across the Southland

« Previous Post | Varsity Times Insider Home | Next Post »

Football: 16-team field finalized for Dana Hills tournament

April 19, 2012 |  7:38 pm

The 16 teams have been finalized for the Dana Hills seven-on-seven passing tournament set for Saturday, June 9, and what a great group it is.

Santa Margarita, Loyola, Mater Dei, Long Beach Poly, Alemany, Narbonne, Edison, Oaks Christian, San Clemente, Capistrano Valley, Dana Hills, Mission Viejo, Chaminade, Tesoro, Upland and El Toro are confirmed.

There are terrific returning quarterbacks, such as Johnny Stanton of Santa Margarita, Troy Williams of Narbonne, Conner Manning of El Toro, Devon Dunn of Alemany, Matt Adam of Tesoro, Nate Romine of Upland, Ryan McMahon of Mater Dei and Brandon Dawkins of Oaks Christian.

Then there will be the new quarterbacks breaking in, such as Brad Kaaya of Chaminade and Patrick Finnegan of Loyola.

With no linemen participating, it's a chance for teams with lots of skill position players to take center stage. Also, several teams usually in the Dana Hills tournament, such as St. John Bosco, won't be participating, because they are taking their dead period the first couple weeks of June.

-- Eric Sondheimer