Varsity Times Insider

Times reporters blog about high school
sports across the Southland

« Previous Post | Varsity Times Insider Home | Next Post »

Jack McDowell, Justin Fargas to be honored as Hall of Famers

November 21, 2011 | 12:50 pm

FabforumThe newest inductees into the Sherman Oaks Notre Dame Hall of Fame will need no introduction.

Cy Young Award winner Jack McDowell and former NFL and USC running back Justin Fargas will lead the latest contingent during ceremonies scheduled for Feb. 25 at the school.

McDowell is also scheduled to play in the alumni baseball game on the same day in which members of Notre Dame's outstanding team from 1984 are expected to participate.

 If that happens, the 2012 team members had better take extra batting practice, because McDowell never liked to lose during his playing days. And beware of umpires, too.

Other inductees will be Shannon Tuttle Genova, a four-time girls' athlete of the year at Notre Dame; All-CIF football players Walt Gurasich and Chris Vella; All-CIF baseball player Fred Carpenter; basketball player Joe Borella and former baseball Coach Al Alcala.

-- Eric Sondheimer

Photo: Jack McDowell with the Chicago White Sox in 1994. Credit: John Zich / Associated Press.