Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

WNBA: Top 15 players in league history

July 23, 2011 |  2:00 pm

Leslie_275 Lisa Leslie, Tina Thompson, Ticha Penicheiro and Teresa Weatherspoon were among the 15 WNBA players selected as the top players in league history by fans, sports writers, current players and coaches. Thompson and Penicheiro currently play for the Sparks, while Leslie and Weatherspoon played for the Sparks before retiring.

Penicheiro, the league's all-time leader in assists, was signed by the Sparks in 2010 after the Sacramento Monarchs folded. She currently averages 4.2 points and 3.9 assists. Thompson, the league's all-time scoring leader, has played with the Sparks since 2009. She averages 9.5 points and 3.9 rebounds.

Leslie, a three-time WNBA most valuable player, played with the Sparks from 1997-2006 and 2008-2009. She helped lead the team to championships in 2001 and 2002. Weatherspoon played for the Sparks in 2004.

The complete list follows the jump.

The WNBA’s top 15 players of all time:

Sue Bird, Seattle Storm (2002-present)
Tamika Catchings, Indiana Fever (2002-present)
Cynthia Cooper, Houston Comets (1997-2000, 2003)
Yolanda Griffith, Indiana Fever (2009), Sacramento Monarchs (1999-2007), Seattle Storm (2008)
Becky Hammon, San Antonio Silver Stars (2007-present), New York Liberty (1999-2006)
Lauren Jackson, Seattle Storm (2001-present)
Lisa Leslie, Sparks (1997-2006, 2008-2009)
Ticha Penicheiro, Sparks (2010-present), Sacramento Monarchs (1998-2009)
Cappie Pondexter, New York Liberty (2010-present), Phoenix Mercury (2006-2009)
Katie Smith, Seattle Storm (Present), Minnesota Lynx (1999-2005), Detroit Shock (2005-2009), Washington Mystics (2010)
Dawn Staley, Houston Comets (2005-2006), Charlotte Sting (1999-2005)
Sheryl Swoopes, Tulsa Shock (Present), Houston Comets (1997-2000, 2002-2007), Seattle Storm (2008)
Diana Taurasi, Phoenix Mercury (2004-present)
Tina Thompson, Sparks (2009-Current), Houston Comets (1997-2008)
Teresa Weatherspoon, Sparks (2004), New York Liberty (1997-2003)


Katie Douglas leads Eastern Conference to win in WNBA All-Star game

Year-round play is becoming hazardous duty for some WNBA players

-- Melissa Rohlin

Photo: Lisa Leslie shoots over Sacramento's DeMya Walker in 2009. Credit: Christine Cotter / Los Angeles Times