Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

NHL Awards: Nicklas Lidstrom, Zdeno Chara, Daniel Sedin pick up hardware

June 22, 2011 |  4:25 pm

Nicklas The NHL kicked off its awards show in Las Vegas by presenting the Norris trophy … won for the seventh time by Detroit’s ageless Nicklas Lidstrom, 41, who recently said he will return next season.

At some point should the NHL retire the trophy and rename it the Lidstrom?

Next is Daniel Sedin accepting the Art Ross trophy as the top scorer…

And the Mark Messier leadership award goes to Zdeno Chara of the Boston Bruins. Almost didn’t recognize him without his playoff beard.

Check back for more as the awards are announced.


NHL goes to Las Vegas for awards show tonight

Ducks' Corey Perry has some fun with Blue Man Group

-- Helene Elliott

Photo: Nicklas Lidstrom of the Detroit Red Wings accepts the James Norris Memorial Trophy during the 2011 NHL Awards at The Pearl concert theater at the Palms Casino Resort on Wednesday. Credit: Ethan Miller / Getty Images