Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

Why Torii Hunter's game-winning double was actually a single Friday night

May 7, 2011 |  5:55 pm

Photo: Angels right fielder Torii Hunter, left, is swarmed by teammates after delivering the game-winning hit on Friday night at Angel Stadium. Credit: Robert Gauthier / Los Angeles Times Torii Hunter's game-winning hit with the bases loaded in the bottom of the 11th inning Friday night hit the warning track and bounced into the left-field seats for what appeared to be a ground-rule double.

But the Angels outfielder was credited with a single and one run batted in instead of two, and the final score was a 2-1 victory over the Cleveland Indians. The reason can be found in Major League Baseball's Rule 4.11 (c) which states:

If the home team scores the winning run in its half of the ninth inning (or its half of an extra inning after a tie), the game ends immediately when the winning run is scored. EXCEPTION: If the last batter in a game hits a home run out of the playing field, the batter-runner and all runners on base are permitted to score, in accordance with the base-running rules, and the game ends when the batter-runner touches home plate.

Hunter was glad to get the victory, but he admitted he would be "pretty ticked off" if he finishes the season with 99 RBIs.

RELATED:

Angels rally in 11th inning to defeat the Indians

Video: Angels discuss 2-1 win over Cleveland

Kendrys Morales still not ready to play

-- Mike DiGiovanna

Photo: Angels right fielder Torii Hunter, left, is swarmed by teammates after delivering the game-winning hit on Friday night at Angel Stadium. Credit: Robert Gauthier / Los Angeles Times

Comments 

Advertisement










Video